Virginia CLE Requirements and Courses

Detailed jurisdiction information about MCLE regulations and general information accreditation of ABA CLE events, webinars, and on-demand CLE courses

CLE FAQ for Newly-Admitted Attorneys

Want to learn more about CLE generally, and explore CLE webinars and on-demand products specifically for newly-admitted attorneys?

Virginia Newly-Admitted CLE Rules

Virginia new admittees are exempt from the 12-credit MCLE requirement for the reporting period in which they are first admitted to practice. However, they must attend a one-day mandatory professionalism course within twelve months of becoming active. This course may count toward their CLE requirement for the first reporting cycle.

Virginia General CLE Rules

  • Credit hours required: 12 hours per reporting period
  • Specialty credits required: 2 hours of professionalism or legal ethics credit per reporting period
  • Length of reporting period: 1 year
  • Compliance date: October 31
  • Compliance Reporting date: December 15 
  • Compliance group: All attorneys report annually.
  • Minutes per credit hour: 60 minutes. To calculate credit for a specific program, divide the total length of the program in minutes by 60 and round up or down to the nearest half hour.
  • Attendance Reporting Procedure: Attorneys must self report their attendance at ABA program using the Virginia course number provided to attendees on their certificate of completion. The ABA does not send certificates of attendance to the Virginia MCLE board.  View details on certifiying compliance with Virginia.
  • On-demand programs may not be viewed until approval is received from the state. Check program details page for each program before completion to ensure that the program is available for credit.

MCLE Rule Changes

In reaction to the evolving situation related to the COVID-19 pandemic, most live in-person CLE events have been cancelled across the world. In response, state and other jurisdictions have have temporarily suspended the requirements that their attorneys attend in-person CLE to fulfill their MCLE requirements or adjusted deadlines, fees, or other aspects of their rules. Your state may have temporarily changed MCLE requirements.

Review Temporary - MCLE Rule Changes

State Contact Information

Virginia State Bar, 1111 East Main Street, Ste. 700, Richmond, VA 23219-3565 | (804) 775-0577

General Credit CLE For Your State

From Evaluation to Onboarding: ...

...HOW TO MANAGE TECHNOLOGY CHANGES IN YOUR FIRM Learn from Eli Mattern and Jenevieve Haggard as they explore the ethical issues involved in implementing new law firm tech solutions. They cover it all: from evaluations of firm technology to proper roll-out and implementation.

Register - Now

A Note About MCLE Credit

The content on this page is for informational and educational purposes only. Each state has its own rules and regulations indicating what qualifies for CLE credit. Please contact your state MCLE regulatory entity for specific questions about your MCLE rules.