Vermont CLE Requirements and Courses

Detailed jurisdiction information about MCLE regulations and general information accreditation of ABA CLE events, webinars, and on-demand CLE courses

CLE FAQ for Newly-Admitted Attorneys

Want to learn more about CLE generally, and explore CLE webinars and on-demand products specifically for newly-admitted attorneys?

Vermont Newly-Admitted CLE Rules

Newly admitted Vermont attorneys must complete the general CLE requirement. In addition, they must complete at least 15 CLE credits on Vermont practice and procedure in courses approved by the Board of Continuing Legal Education and certified by the Board of Bar Examiners. Newly admitted attorneys who were admitted by bar exam or transferred UBE score must also complete a 40-hour mentorship program. For newly admitted attorneys who were admitted without the bar examination, the 15 Vermont-specific credit requirement must be completed within one year of admission. For those who were admitted by bar exam or transferred UBE score, the 15 credits can be completed up to 6 months before sitting for the bar and no later than one year after admission. The 40-hour mentorship program must also be completed within one year of admission.

Vermont General CLE Rules

  • Credit hours required: 24 hours per reporting period
  • Specialty credits required: 2 hours of legal ethics, 1 hour attorney wellness, and 1 hour diversity and inclusion credit per reporting period
  • Length of reporting period: 2 years
  • Compliance date: June 30
  • Reporting date: July 1
  • Compliance group: All attorneys report every 2 years. Newly admitted attorneys are required to report on July 1 of the second full year following the year of admission and biennially thereafter.
  • Minutes per credit hour: 60 minutes. To calculate credit for a specific program, divide the total length of the program in minutes by 60 and round up or down to the nearest quarter hour.
  • Attendance Reporting Procedure: Attorneys must self-report completion of CLE requirements each reporting period through the required affidavit. Neither the ABA nor attorneys send certificates of attendance to the Vermont Board of Mandatory Continuing Legal Education.

MCLE Rule Changes

In reaction to the evolving situation related to the COVID-19 pandemic, most live in-person CLE events have been cancelled across the world. In response, state and other jurisdictions have have temporarily suspended the requirements that their attorneys attend in-person CLE to fulfill their MCLE requirements or adjusted deadlines, fees, or other aspects of their rules. Your state may have temporarily changed MCLE requirements.

Review Temporary - MCLE Rule Changes

State Contact Information

Vermont Board of Continuing Legal Education, 111 State Street Suite 9B, Montpelier, VT 05609-0701 | phone: 802-828-3281

General Credit CLE For Your State

From Evaluation to Onboarding: ...

...HOW TO MANAGE TECHNOLOGY CHANGES IN YOUR FIRM Learn from Eli Mattern and Jenevieve Haggard as they explore the ethical issues involved in implementing new law firm tech solutions. They cover it all: from evaluations of firm technology to proper roll-out and implementation.

Register - Now

A Note About MCLE Credit

The content on this page is for informational and educational purposes only. Each state has its own rules and regulations indicating what qualifies for CLE credit. Please contact your state MCLE regulatory entity for specific questions about your MCLE rules.