California CLE Requirements and Courses

Detailed jurisdiction information about MCLE regulations and general information accreditation of ABA CLE events, webinars, and on-demand CLE courses

CLE FAQ for Newly-Admitted Attorneys

Want to learn more about CLE generally, and explore CLE webinars and on-demand products specifically for newly-admitted attorneys?

California Newly-Admitted CLE Rules

California new attorneys are required to complete a 10-hour program of New Attorney Training, developed and provided by the State Bar of California. The New Attorney Training can also be used toward fulfilling the regular MCLE requirement for new attorneys.

California General CLE Rules

  • Credit hours required: 25 hours per reporting period
  • Specialty credits required: 4 hours of ethics credit; 1 hour of competency issues credit; and 1 hour of elimination of bias in the profession credit, per reporting period
  • Length of reporting period: 3 years
  • Compliance date: January 31
  • Reporting date: February 1
  • Compliance group: California attorney membership is divided into 3 compliance groups by last name: Group 1 (A-G); Group 2 (H-M); and Group 3 (N-Z). Each group is up for compliance every 3 years. Group 1's compliance period is 2/1/16 -1/31/19; Group 2's is 2/1/15 - 1/31/18; and Group 3's is 2/1/17-1/31/20.
  • Minutes per credit hour: 60 minutes. To calculate credit for a specific program, divide the total length of the program in minutes by 60 and round to the nearest quarter hour.
  • Limit on credit hours for self-study: Attorneys must earn 12.5 credit hours through activities qualified for participatory credit (or one half of their proportional requirement). The remainder (up to 12.5 hours) can be earned via self-study.  ABA On-Demand CLE courses are considered participatory in California. All 25 credit hours may be earned with ABA On-Demand CLE courses. 
  • Attendance Reporting Procedure: Attorneys are responsible for tracking their CLE credit and reporting compliance to the State Bar of California at the end of the reporting period. Prior to the end of the reporting period, the State Bar sends compliance cards to those who must comply that year. Attorneys must retain their certificates of attendance for participatory credit activities. Neither the ABA nor attorneys send certificates of attendance to the California State Bar unless requested during an audit. 

MCLE Rule Changes

In reaction to the evolving situation related to the COVID-19 pandemic, most live in-person CLE events have been cancelled across the world. In response, state and other jurisdictions have have temporarily suspended the requirements that their attorneys attend in-person CLE to fulfill their MCLE requirements or adjusted deadlines, fees, or other aspects of their rules. Your state may have temporarily changed MCLE requirements.

Review Temporary - MCLE Rule Changes

State Contact Information

The State Bar of California, Attorney Regulation and Consumer Resources, 180 Howard Street, 8th Floor, San Francisco, CA 94105 | (415) 538-2237

General Credit CLE For Your State

From Evaluation to Onboarding: ...

...HOW TO MANAGE TECHNOLOGY CHANGES IN YOUR FIRM Learn from Eli Mattern and Jenevieve Haggard as they explore the ethical issues involved in implementing new law firm tech solutions. They cover it all: from evaluations of firm technology to proper roll-out and implementation.

Register - Now

A Note About MCLE Credit

The content on this page is for informational and educational purposes only. Each state has its own rules and regulations indicating what qualifies for CLE credit. Please contact your state MCLE regulatory entity for specific questions about your MCLE rules.