April 23, 2019

James K. Carroll Leadership Award

The James K. Carroll Leadership Award was established in 2010 to honor James K. Carroll, who served as the TIPS Chair during the 2004-05 bar year. Mr. Carroll passed away unexpectedly following the 2009 Annual Meeting. He was active in the Section for a number of years prior to serving as TIPS Chair. He assumed a number of leadership roles in the Section including that of Finance Officer where he was instrumental in changing the Section’s approach to finance resulting in the Section’s financial health. Mr. Carroll was a leader by example who was actively inclusive in all of his Section work. While Section Chair, the Section embarked on its Diversity initiative which continues today.

This award honors the outstanding leadership Mr. Carroll provided to the Section by recognizing an attorney or judge who has demonstrated these same leadership qualities in service to the Section. Nominations are made by the leadership of TIPS including officers, council members and committee leadership, and the final selection is made by a vote of the TIPS Council. It is intended that the award be given each year during the ABA Annual Meeting, at the TIPS Leadership Dinner, which was subsequently named the James K. Carroll Leadership Dinner.

Past Award Recipients


2019 - Michael S. Beaver

2018 - John R. Tarpley

2017 - Jennifer Busby

2016 - Dick A. Semerdjian

2015 - Timothy W. Bouch

2013 - Janice F. Mulligan

2012 - Peter J. Neeson

2011 - Leo J. Jordan