Nominations for the award are accepted on behalf of individuals who have:

  • Been active in LRE for at least five (5) years;
  • Participated in the development of LRE materials or programs, or made significant other recognized contributions to LRE at the local, state, or national levels;
  • Generously contributed time and resources in support of LRE, such as serving on advisory committees, reviewing materials or programs, and responding to requests for assistance; and 
  • Not previously received the award.


About Isidore Starr

The civics and law-related education community mourns the loss and celebrates the life and legacy of Isidore Starr, who passed away on February 10, 2018, at the age of 106. He fostered a community of educators, students, and legal professionals who value law-related education who continue to be inspired by him today. 

Dr. Isidore Starr taught social studies in the New York Public Schools before embarking on a second career as a Professor of Education at Queens College. Long considered the “father of law-related education,” Dr. Starr wrote many articles and books about law-related education. He earned an M.A. in American History from Columbia University, a Ph.D from the New School for Social Research, and a law degree from St. John’s University. 

Isidore Starr

Past Award Recipients

  • 2015

    David Trevaskis

  • 2013

    JoEllen Ambrose

  • 2011

    Wanda Cassidy

  • 2009

    Ed O'Brien

  • 2007

    Jan Miller

  • 2006

    Thomas G. Walker, Jr.

  • 2004

    Margaret E. Fisher

  • 2002

    Annette Boyd Pitts

  • 2000

    Marshall Croddy

  • 1998

    Marilyn Cover

  • 1997

    Mary Jane Turner

  • 1996

    Arthur M. Ahalt

  • 1995

    Gayle Mertz

  • 1994

    Ellery Miller

  • 1993

    Eric Mondschein

  • 1992

    Carolyn Pereira

  • 1991

    Jennifer Bloom

  • 1989

    Tom O’Donnell

  • 1988

    Todd Clark

  • 1987

    Lee Arbetman

  • 1986

    Jack Hoar

  • 1985

    Margaret Richards

  • 1984

    Ira Eyster

  • 1983

    Linda Riekes