chevron-down Created with Sketch Beta.
Frank E.A. Sander Innovation in ADR Award

Frank E.A. Sander Award

Frank E.A. Sander

Frank E.A. Sander

Named for  long-time Harvard Law School professor Frank Sander, the Frank E.A. Sander Innovation in ADR Award was established to recognize innovative methods and extraordinary achievements in the field of Alternative Dispute Resolution.  It is a joint initiative of the ABA Center for Innovation and the ABA Section for Dispute Resolution.  The award will be presented at a ceremony at the Section of Dispute Resolution’s Annual Spring Conference. 

2024 Frank E.A. Sander Award Winners

Paul Lurie

Mediators Beyond Borders International 

The ABA Center for Innovation, in conjunction with the ABA Section of Dispute Resolution, is excited to celebrate Mediators Beyond Borders International and Paul M. Lurie, the 2024 recipients of the Frank E.A. Sander Innovation in ADR Award.

Paul Lurie stands as an industry pioneer and creator of the premier educational resource Mediate and Arbitrate Listserv. 

Mediators Beyond Borders International is a humanitarian organization established to partner with communities worldwide to build their conflict resolution capacity for preventing, resolving and healing from conflict.

We look forward to honoring our colleagues at the 2024 Spring Conference Award Ceremony on April 11, 2024 at the Westin Gaslamp in San Diego, CA. 

Don’t miss the premier event for dispute resolution professionals. Choose from over 50 educational programs to meet your professional development needs. Network and socialize with fellow attendees at unique local events. Be inspired by keynote speakers and celebrate this year’s ADR awardees. Whether you are new to the field or have been practicing for decades, the conference has something for you!

Nominations for the 2024 Award are closed.

Award Criteria

Any organization or individual in the United States or Canada may apply or be nominated for having:

1) Developed a project, program, or approach that has improved access to justice through an innovative use of alternative dispute resolution; or

2) Demonstrated dedication to creating a sustainable, replicable and innovative solution that the public and others can use to efficiently and effectively resolve disputes outside of traditional court proceedings.


  • Nomination form

Previous Award Winners

Previous winners can be viewed here