chevron-down Created with Sketch Beta.


K. William Kolbe Writing Competition

The section seeks entries for its writing competition from all law students who are enrolled in ABA-approved law schools and are members of the ABA Law Student Division. The prize is $2,500 and airfare and hotel accommodations to attend the Section’s Fall Council Meeting. 

Writing Competition Past Winners
Ramon J. Ryan (2020)
Mark J. Widerscheim (2019)
Helen Aki (2017)
Lane Kisonak (2015)
Alexander Hurst (2014)

Samuel H. Porter Award

On May 5, 2013, the Section lost one of its finest contributors and leaders, Samuel H. Porter (“Sam” to most of us). Sam served as Section Chair in 1999, was our Section Delegate to the House from 2002 to 2013, and was recently nominated, shortly before his passing, to be our Section At-Large Member of the ABA Board of Governors, a three-year term that was to commence in August of this year. In recent years, Sam served as Chair of our Long Range Planning Committee and ably gave guidance as the head of that important committee to assist in charting the Section’s course in future years. The Section leadership felt that it was wholly appropriate to create an award in his name, The Samuel H. Porter Service Award. The criterion for selection will be a person who has made a difference by volunteering time and dedicated service to the Section. The recipient will be an individual who has gone “above and beyond” in providing leadership to the Section and to the development of the law and leaders for our infrastructure industries. The recipient would also be recognized for his or her professional stature in the Bar and an unquestioned commitment to the law as a profession and mentoring young lawyers to flourish and succeed in their chosen profession. It is the intent to make this award on an annual basis, though we need not be compelled to do so in any year. One can self-nominate or nominate one or more individuals to be considered. Nominations will be considered by a Nominating Committee consisting of the immediate past Chair, present Chair and Chair-Elect of the Section.

2017 Recipient
David R. Poe 

2015 Recipient
The Honorable Richard D. Cudahy

2014 Recipients
George A. Avery
Ernest J. Ierardi