Professor and Dean Emeritus at Saint Louis University School of Law is 29th Award Recipient

Volume 43 Issue 4

Jeffrey E. Lewis, professor and dean emeritus, Saint Louis University School of Law

Jeffrey E. Lewis, dean emeritus and professor at Saint Louis University School of Law (SLU Law), is the 2012 recipient of the Robert J. Kutak Award. Professor Lewis served as dean of SLU Law for 11 years until his return to teaching full-time in 2010. Under his leadership, the law school experienced exceptional advancement: investment in the law school grew, the number of full-time tenure-track faculty grew dramatically, increasing the student-to-faculty ratio from 23:1 to 17:1; resources for faculty scholarship grew as did scholarship assistance for full-time students. The size of the legal clinics tripled and they now provide nearly 300 students annually with invaluable legal training while providing valuable services to the community. As dean, Professor Lewis also created the 1843 Scholars, a program that awards full-tuition scholarships to deserving students.

Professor Lewis earned a bachelor’s degree from Duke University and a law degree from Duke University School of Law. He began his academic career in 1970 as an assistant professor at the University of Akron College of Law. Two years later, he took a position as an assistant professor at the University of Florida College of Law. In 1977, he became a full professor and was named the school’s Outstanding Professor. He was named associate dean in 1982 and in 1988 became dean of the law school. Professor Lewis held that position for 8 years until he became dean of SLU Law in 1999.

Over the years, Professor Lewis has served as the chair and as a member of dozens of ABA and the Association of American Law Schools site evaluation teams. He also served on the ABA Section of Legal Education and Admissions to the Bar’s Council, Accreditation Consistency Committee, and Accreditation Committee, serving as its chair from 1996 to 1999. Professor Lewis is currently the chair of the Section’s Standards Review Committee. He is also a fellow of the American Bar Foundation and served as a Master of the Bench of the Chester Bedell Inn of Court.

Professor Lewis will receive the award at a reception on Friday, August 3, 6:30 to 8:00 p.m. at the Swissotel in Chicago during the ABA Annual Meeting. For more information, visit the Kutak Award.


Premium Content for:

  • ABA Section of Legal Education and Admissions to the Bar Members
Join Now

Already a member? Log In


  • Syllabus

  • Section Leadership