ABA Annual Meeting Recap

Volume 43 Issue 1

2011-2012 Section Council Elected

At the Section’s Annual Business Meeting on Saturday, August 6 in Toronto, John O’ Brien, dean of New England Law| Boston was elected Section chair, Kent Syverud, dean of Washington University School of Law was elected chair-elect, and the Honorable Solomon Oliver Jr., chief judge of the U.S. District Court for the Northern District of Ohio, was elected vice chair. Newly elected Council members include Jane Aiken (Georgetown University Law Center ), Gregory Murphy (Billings, Montana), and Erika Robinson (University of South Carolina School of Law).

Complete list of the Section’s Council officers and members.



Chairperson's Dinner Honors Council Members
Immediate Past Chair Christine Durham with outgoing Council members Bryan O'Keefe, Martha Craig Daughtrey, Robert Dinerstein, and Jerome Hafter.

Chairperson’s Dinner Honors Council Members

The Honorable Christine Durham, 2010-2011 Section Chair, hosted the annual Chairperson’s Dinner on Thursday, August 4, at Rosewater in Toronto. Outgoing Council members Jerry C. Hafter, Martha Craig Daughtrey, Robert D. Dinerstein, Christine M. Durham, Susan Gainey Odoyo, and Bryan M. O’Keefe were recognized for their service to the Section. Bucky Askew also took the opportunity to thank Dan Freehling, the former Deputy Consultant who retired from the Section in September, for his work over the past five years.


John Feerick Receives the 2011 Robert J. Kutak Award
John Feerick is congratulated by Kutak Award Committee chair Randall Shepard and past award recipients Talbot D'Alemberte, James P. White, Nina Appel, Peter Winograd, and Robert K. Walsh

John Feerick Receives the 2011 Robert J. Kutak Award

Surrounded by colleagues, friends, and law students, John D. Feerick, professor and former dean at Fordham University School of Law, received the Section’s 2011 Kutak Award. Professor Feerick was introduced by the Honorable Randall Shepard, chief justice of the Indiana Supreme Court and chair of the Kutak Award Committee. Justice Shepard began his remarks by noting “If all lawyers were like John Feerick, there would be no lawyer jokes.” He then cited John Feerick’s exemplary record as a law student, law school dean, legal scholar, and moral compass in the community as factors that led to his selection as a Kutak Award winner.

Justice Shepard’s remarks

In accepting the award, Professor Feerick said he did so “on behalf of an entire law school whose colleagues of mine were my equal partners in so much of my work in the academy.” He also expressed his gratitude to be considered worthy of an award bearing the name of Robert Kutak, who he described as “a servant of the public and justice always”.

Professor Feerick’s remarks



  • Syllabus

  • Section Leadership