ABA Annual Meeting Recap

Volume 45 Number 1


At the ABA Annual Meeting in San Francisco in August, the Section held its annual business meeting, deans' breakfast, chair’s dinner, and Kutak Award reception.

2013-2014 Section Council Elected

At the Section’s Business Meeting on Saturday, August 10, the Honorable Solomon Oliver, Jr., chief judge of the United States District Court of Northern Ohio, was elected Section chair for 2013-2014. Joan Howland, associate dean at the University of Minnesota Law School, was elected to the position of chair-elect and the Honorable Rebecca White Berch, chief justice of the Supreme Court of Arizona, was elected to the position of vice chair. Newly elected Council members are Roger Dennis, dean of Drexel University Earle Mack School of Law, and Irene Lehne, the Law Student Division (LSD) member, also from Drexel University Earle Mack School of Law.  Daniel Thies, senior law clerk to Judge James F. Holderman of the Northern District of Illinois and the Council’s LSD member from 2008 to 2010, was appointed to serve as the Young Lawyers Division representative for 2013-2014.

Complete list of the Section’s Council officers and members.


Kent Syverud congratulates John O'Brien for his service on the Section Council


Chair’s Dinner Honors Chair Syverud and Outgoing Council Members

The Velvet Room of the Clift Hotel was the site of the 2013 Chair’s Dinner hosted by the Section’s 2012-2013 chair, Kent Syverud, dean of Washington University School of Law. During the evening’s festivities, John O’Brien, dean of New England School of Law and the Section’s immediate past chair, Erika Robinson, the Council’s Law Student Division member; and Carlos Escurel, Young Lawyers Division liaison, were recognized for their service to the Section and on the Council.


Greg Murphy, chair of the Kutak Award Committee, presents the 2013 award to Erica Moeser


Erica Moeser Receives Kutak Award

Erica Moeser, president and CEO of the National Conference of Bar Examiners, received the 2013 Robert J. Kutak Award at a reception atop the Hotel Nikko in San Francisco. Among those on hand to celebrate were NCBE board members and Law Student Division members.  In presenting the award, Kutak Award Committee Chair Greg Murphy recognized Ms. Moeser not only for her service to the Section but for her contributions to bar admissions processes nationally.

View photos from some of the Section's Annual Meeting events.


  • Syllabus

  • Section Leadership