Report of the Nominating Committee 2013

Vol. 36 No. 4

Pursuant to Article IV of the Section Bylaws, the Nominating Committee makes the following nominations for each position to be filled by election at the Annual Meeting in San Francisco, California.

Chair—W. Andrew Gowder, Jr., Shareholder, Pratt-Thomas Walker, P.A., Charleston, South Carolina. Served as Committee Coordinator and Special Advisor to the Chair, Land Use Committee Chair, Editor of State & Local Law News, and Member of Council.

Chair-Elect—James C. Hanks, Member, Ahlers & Cooney, P.C., Des Moines, Iowa. Served as Committee Coordinator, Member of Council, Revenue Enhancement Officer, Public Education Committee Chair, and Co-CLE Director.

Vice-Chair—Donna Y. Frazier, Assistant Parish Attorney, Parish of Caddo, Louisiana. Served as Member of Council, Special Advisor/Committee Coordinator/Revenue Enhancement Officer, Government Operations Vice-Chair, and Diversity Committee Co-Chair.

Secretary—Ellen F. Rosenblum, Attorney General, State of Oregon, Judge of the Oregon Court of Appeals (Ret.). Served as member of Council and Co-Chair of the Membership Committee.

Budget Officer—Bill Scheiderich, Member, Law Department, City of Beaverton, Oregon. Served as Member of Council, Budget Officer, and Assistant Budget Officer.

Immediate Past Chair—Mary Kay Klimesh, Partner, Seyfarth Shaw LLP, Chicago, Illinois. Served as Publications Director, Publications Oversight Board Chair, and Communications Director.

Delegate to the House—Benjamin E. Griffith, Partner, Griffith & Griffith, Cleveland, Mississippi. Served as a member of Council, Section Chair, and on The Urban LawyerAdvisory Board.

Delegate to the House—Patricia E. Salkin, Dean, Touro College Jacob D. Fuchsberg Law Center, Central Islip, New York. Served as Section Chair, Ethics and Land Use Planning Subcommittee chair, and on The Urban Lawyer Advisory Board.

Content Coordinator—Martha Harrell Chumbler, Shareholder, Carlton Fields, Tallahassee, Florida. Served as Member of Council, Ethics Committee Chair, and Publications Oversight Board Chair.

Editor, The Urban Lawyer—Julie M. Cheslik, Professor of Law, University of Missouri, Kansas City, Missouri. Serves as Editor of The Urban Lawyer.

Editor, State & Local Law News—Charles Gottlieb, Staff Attorney, Albany Law School, Government Law Center. Served as eNews Co-Editor and serves as Editor of State & Local Law News.

Continuing Legal Education Coordinator— David A. Hartman, Partner, Smith Robertson Elliott, Glen Klein, and Douglas LLP, Austen Texas. Served as Land Use Chair and Electronic Communications Committee Chair.

Publications Director—Ronald J. Kramer, Partner, Seyfarth Shaw, LLP, Chicago Illinois. Served as Committee Coordinator/Special Advisor and Government Operations Committee Chair.

Board of Governors Liaison—Laura V. Farber, Partner, Hahn & Hahn, LLP, Pasadena California, ABA Board of Governors Member, ABA General Practice Solo and Small firm Division Chair.

Law Student Division Liaison—Carey Hawkins Ash, Law Student, University of Illinois at Urbana–Champaign, Illinois, and Candidate for Ph.D. in Education Policy, Organization, and Leadership. Served as Law Student Division Liaison.

Young Lawyers Division Liaison—Sorell E. Negro, Associate, Robinson & Cole, Hartford, Connecticut. Serves as the Young Lawyer Division liaison.

Members of Council

term ending in 2017:

Steven F. Stapleton, Senior Council, Miller Canfield, Grand Rapids Michigan. Served as Government Operations Committee Chair.

Scott Steady, Partner, Burr & Foreman. Served as Superfund and Hazardous Waste Subcommittee Chair, Environmental and Energy Law Committee Vice-Chair, Chair

Jennifer M. Bragar, Associate, Garvey Schubert Barer, Portland Oregon. Serves as eNews Co-Editor.

term ending 2016:

Nadia Costa, Shareholder, Miller Starr Regalia. Served as Inclusionary Zoning Subcommittee Co-Chair, Land Use Planning & Zoning Committee Vice Chair–Programs, and Membership Co-Chair.

Edward A. Thomas, Attorney, Edward A. Thomas, Esq. LLP. Served as Hazards and Land Use Planning Subcommittee Chair and Emergency Management/Homeland Security Committee Vice-Chair–Programs.

Lai Sun Yee, Senior Policy Advisor, National Training, Education and Exercises at DHS/FEMA. Served as Homeland Security/Emergency Management Committee Vice-Chair, Chair, and Liaison to the Special Standing Committee on Disasters

To Fill Remainder of Vacated Terms:

term ending 2014

Robert Thomas, Director and Partner, Damon Key Leong Kupchak Hastert, Honolulu, Hawaii, Serves as chair of Condemnation Committee and Committee Coordinator and served as CLE Director and Content Advisory Board Chair.

Michael T. Kamprath, Associate, Thresher & Thresher, P.A., Tampa, Florida. Serves as Membership Committee Chair and served as Young Lawyers Division Liaison.

Nikelle Meade, partner at Brown McCarroll in Auttin, Texas. Served as Vice-Chair–Reports, Land Use, Planning and Zoning Committee, and as Continuing Legal Education Coordinator.

Continuing in Their Previously Elected Terms of Office

term ending 2015:

Steven J. Eagle, Professor of Law, George Mason University School of Law. Served as Chair, Condemnation Committee, Budget Officer, and as Assistant Budget Officer.

Kenneth W. Bond, Partner, Squire Sanders & Dempsey, New York, New York. Served as Public Finance Committee Chair.

Michael Donaldson, Member, Carlton Fields, Government Law and Consulting Practice Group. Served as Ethics Committee Chair.

Premium Content for:

  • ABA Section of State and Local Government Law Members
Join Now

Already a member? Log In


  • State & Local Law News

  • Reprints & Back Issues

  • Contacts Us