LPM Nominating Committee Report 2013

Volume 39 Number 5

Law Practice Magazine | July/August 2013 | The Big Ideas IssueThe Law Practice Management Section’s (LPM) Nominating Committee nominations for Section officers and Council members are as follows. Elections will be held in August at the ABA Annual Meeting in San Francisco.


Michael P. Downey, Chair
John D. Bowers
Jim Calloway
Andrea S. Hartley
Vedia Jones-Richardson
Walter W. Karnstein
Reba Nance


Chair-Elect: Robert A. Young
Vice Chair: John Mitchell
Secretary: Stephanie Kimbro


Heidi Barcus
Jennifer Ator
Ken Young
Susan Letterman White
Micah Buchdahl
K. William Gibson
L. Leona Frank
Paul Unger
Andrea Hartley


Bill Gibson Awarded Samuel S. Smith Award


Bill Gibson 2013 Samuel S. Smith Award RecipientPortland, Ore. attorney K. William Gibson has been named the 2013 recipient of the Samuel S. Smith Award by the ABA Law Practice Management Section (LPM). The award is the highest honor bestowed by the Section, recognizing an individual who has demonstrated outstanding lifetime achievement in the field of law practice management. He will receive the award at a reception during the ABA Annual Meeting in San Francisco on August 9. Gibson has significantly contributed to the Section through his service as the 2001-2002 LPM Section Chair and as a Council Member of five years. Currently, he serves as a member of the Law Practice Magazine Board and, until recently, served on the Section Strategy and Planning Committee. He is the Immediate Past President of the College of Law Practice Management and presently is a fellow and trustee. Gibson is the author of three editions of the best-selling How to Build and Manage a Personal Injury Practice (named Best Publication of 1997 by Lawyers Weekly), editor of Flying Solo: A Survival Guide for Solo and Small Firm Lawyers, and is a columnist for Law Practice magazine. Now a full-time arbitrator and mediator in Portland, Oregon, he has practiced personal injury law since receiving his law degree from Lewis & Clark Law School in 1979.