October 23, 2012

Report of the LPM Section Nominating Committee, 2009 Nominations for Annual Elections

Law Practice Magazine Logo

 Table of Contents | Features | Frontlines | Technology | Business

June 2009 Issue | Volume 35 Number 4 | Page 18

LPM Section News and Events

Report of the LPM Section Nominating Committee, 2009 Nominations for Annual Elections

The LPM Nominating Committee presented its report at the LPM Spring Meeting in New Orleans, with nominations for Section officers and Council members. Elections will be held in August at the Annual Meeting in Chicago.

Chair (Automatic Succession )
Micah U. Buchdahl is an attorney focused on assisting law firms with business development initiatives. He serves as President of Moorestown, New Jerseybased HTMLawyers, Inc., a law marketing company, while maintaining an active law license in Pennsylvania. Micah’s eclectic background gives him a unique perspective on the business of law—as associate counsel with the Philadelphia Flyers and Spectacor; as director of NBA Photos, a marketing division of the National Basketball Association; and as a mediator and arbitrator in the Philadelphia Municipal Court. He currently serves as Chair-Elect of the Section, and has chaired the LPM Marketing Core Group and LPM Nominating Committee.

Andrea S. Hartley is a shareholder of Akerman Senterfitt, Florida’s largest law firm, with 500 attorneys and consultants servicing private and public companies, governmental entities, educational institutions and high-net-worth individuals in a wide range of practice areas. Her practice is concentrated on bankruptcy, creditors’ rights and commercial litigation. She currently serves as Vice Chair of the Section, and has chaired the ABA Women Rainmakers and the LPM Membership and Marketing Committee.

Vice Chair
Thomas L. Mighell is a Senior Manager, Consulting, at Fios, Inc. Prior to joining Fios, he gained extensive experience as an attorney, litigation support coordinator and shareholder with the law firm Cowles & Thompson, P.C. in Dallas. He is a frequent speaker and author on the Internet and legal technology, and has published the Internet Legal Research Weekly newsletter since 2000 and the Internet research and technology blog Inter Alia (www.inter-alia.net) since 2002. Tom is the coauthor of the ABA LPM book The Lawyer’s Guide to Collaboration Tools and Technologies: Smart Ways to Work Together. He currently serves as Secretary of the Section, and has chaired the ABA TECHSHOW Planning Board and the LPM Education Board.

Joan R.M. Bullock is a faculty member at the Florida A&M University College of Law with over 20 years of experience in law teaching. She is also a CPA and attorney who has practiced before the United States Tax Court and has assisted many start-up enterprises, including law firms, with legal, accounting, tax and general business expertise. Professor Bullock has developed an expertise in law firm management and particularly in the area of the impact of management and performance measures on a firm’s diversity and inclusion efforts. She currently serves as Co-Chair of the LPM Diversity Committee and as liaison to the ABA Presidential Advisory Council on Diversity in the Profession, and also serves on the LPM Book Publishing Editorial Board.

Council Renominations *
1 Reid F. Trautz
3 Ralph Clayton Clontz III
5 Edward H. Flitton
7 Carole A. Levitt
9 Sharon D. Nelson
13 Steven M. Silverberg
*Position number precedes name.

ABA House of Delegates
Mark A. Robertson

LPM Nominating Committee
Micah U. Buchdahl, Chair
Ralph Clayton Clontz III
K. William Gibson
William D. Henslee
Steven M. Silverberg
Gregory Howard Siskind