October 23, 2012

Nominations for Annual Elections

Law Practice Magazine Logo
In Up or Over

Making Partner

It's Up or Out No More as Alternatives Shake up the Traditional Partnership Model

 Table of Contents


Nominations for Annual Elections

Report of the LPM Section Nominating Committee, 2007

The Nominating Committee presented its report at the Spring Meeting in Williamsburg, Virginia, with nominations for Section officers and Council members. Elections will be held in August at the ABA Annual Meeting.

Chair (Automatic Succession):
Vedia Jones-Richardson is a principal with Olive and Olive, PA, an intellectual property firm in Durham, North Carolina, where she handles trademark, copyright and licensing matters. She represents a broad range of intellectual property owners, from small and midsized businesses, to artists, authors, performers and inventors. Vedia has served on the Council, the Editorial Board of Law Practice magazine, the Diversity Committee and Women Rainmakers, and chaired the Multicultural Task Force.

Walter W. Karnstein is a shareholder of Kolisch Hartwell, PC, an intellectual property firm with offices in Portland, Oregon, Palo Alto, California, and Boise, Idaho. He practices in the areas of patent, trademark and copyright law, representing a broad spectrum of clients in the acquisition and enforcement of intellectual property rights. Walt currently serves as the LPM Vice-Chair. He is a former Director of the ABA Young Lawyers Division, a former Editor of YLD's The Affiliate magazine and a former Chair of the Oregon state bar's New Lawyers Division.

Vice Chair:
Micah U. Buchdahl is an attorney focused on assisting law firms with business development initiatives. He serves as president of Moorestown, New Jersey-based HTMLawyers, Inc., a law marketing company, while maintaining an active law license in Pennsylvania. Micah's eclectic background gives him a unique perspective on the business of law—as associate counsel with the Philadelphia Flyers and Spectacor; as director of NBA Photos, a marketing division of the National Basketball Association; and as a mediator and arbitrator in the Philadelphia Municipal Court. Micah currently serves as Secretary of the Section and as Co-Chair of the LPM Education Board.

Andrea Stone Hartley is a shareholder of Akerman Senterfitt, Florida's largest law firm, with 500 attorneys and consultants servicing private and public companies, governmental entities, educational institutions and high net-worth individuals in a wide range of practice areas. Her law practice is concentrated on bankruptcy, creditors' rights and commercial litigation. She currently serves on the LPM Section Council and is Co-Chair of ABA Women Rainmakers, liaison to the LPM Education Board, and liaison to the ABA Commission on Women in the Profession. She has served on the Nominating Committee and as Chair of the Membership and Marketing Committee.

Council Renominations*

3  Ralph C. Clontz, Jr.
5  Edward H. Flitton III
7  Carole A. Levitt
9  Sharon D. Nelson
11  Thomas J. O'Connor

Council Nominations*

1  Reid F. Trautz
13  Steven M. Silverberg

*Position number precedes name