October 23, 2012

IRR News Report

Winter 2006

Jerome J. Shestack to Receive Section Service Award

Jerome J. Shestack, former ABA President, former Section Chair, and current chair of the ABA Center for Human Rights, will receive the 2006 Robert F. Drinan Award for Distinguished Service. The award recognizes individuals whose sustained commitment to the Section has advanced its mission of providing leadership to the legal profession in protecting and advancing human rights, civil liberties, and social justice. A reception in Mr. Shestack’s honor will be held on Friday, Feb. 10, at 5:30 p.m., at the Hyatt Regency Hotel in Chicago.

Mr. Shestack’s interest in human rights began with his involvement in the civil rights movement of the 1960s and evolved to include international human rights as well. His and others’ dedication to these issues and his belief in the ABA’s ability to advance them, led to the formation in 1966 of the Section of Individual Rights and Responsibilities, of which he served as Chair from 1969 to 1970. He also has served as a Section delegate to the ABA House of Delegates, as a member of the Standing Committee on the Federal Judiciary, and as a member of the Board of Governors. He served as ABA President from 1997 to 1998.

In addition to his service to the ABA, Mr. Shestack has worked to advance human rights through a number of other organizations. He was U.S. Ambassador for Human Rights to the United Nations, Chair of the International Bar Association’s Standing Committee on Human Rights, and Chair of the International League for Human Rights. He also founded and served as first chair of the Lawyers’ Committee for Human Rights and was a founder of the Helsinki Watch Committee. Mr. Shestack is currently Chair of the Litigation Department at Wolf, Block, Schorr and Solis-Cohen in Philadelphia, Pa., and has been named one of the “100 Most Influential Lawyers” by the National Law Journal.