October 23, 2012

IRR News Report

Summer 2007

Section Elections

The Section’s 2007 Annual Meeting will be held in conjunction with the ABA Annual Meeting. Included on the agenda is the election of Section officers and Council members, which will take place at 1:00 p.m. on Friday, Aug. 10, 2007, during the Section Leadership Award Luncheon in the Victorian Room, 2 nd Floor, of the Westin St. Francis, in San Francisco, CA.

The 2006 Section Nominating Committee (Llewelyn Pritchard, Chair; Lourdes Rivera; Susan Silverstein; Steven Walther; and Benjamin Wilson) has proposed the following slate of candidates for open positions for 2007-08:


Neal R. Sonnett, Miami, FL

Vice Chair:

Gloria Browne-Marshall, New York, NY


Richard Podell, Milwaukee, WI

Three-year Council Positions:

Drucilla Ramey , New York, NY

Robert Weiner, Wash., D.C.

Sarah Weddington, Austin, TX

Glenn Stover, San Francisco, CA

Two-year Unexpired Terms:

Myles Lynk, Tempe, AZ

Mary Smith, Chicago, IL (Minority-At-Large)

 Under the Section's bylaws, any Section member may make additional nominations for these positions by submitting a written statement of nomination signed by at least one other member in addition to the member being nominated. Nominations must be received by Section Chair Robert E. Stein or Section Secretary Gloria Browne-Marshall at least six hours before the election. Nominations will not be accepted from the floor at the time of the election.

The Section Council is scheduled to meet from 9:00 a.m. to 4:00 p.m. on Friday, Aug. 10, and from 9:00 a.m. to 12:00 p.m. on Saturday, Aug. 11, in the Elizabethan A Conference Room, 2 nd Floor, of the Westin St. Francis. Council sessions are open to all members. Please contact the Section office at 202/662-1030 for further information.