October 23, 2012

IRR News Report

Summer 2006

Section to Elect 2006-07 Leaders at ABA Annual Meeting

The Section’s 2006 Annual Meeting will be held in conjunction with the ABA Annual Meeting. Included on the agenda is the election of Section officers and Council members. Elections will be held at noon on Friday, Aug. 4, 2006, at a Section luncheon taking place at the Hilton Hawaiian Village.

The 2006 Nominating Committee (Hon. Cruz Reynoso (Chair), Shelley D. Hayes, Richard J. Podell, Drucilla S. Ramey, Susan Ann Silverstein, and Robert E. Stein) has proposed the following slate of candidates for open positions for 2006-07:


Robyn S. Shapiro, Milwaukee, WI


Vice Chair:
Neal R. Sonnett, Miami, FL


Gloria Browne– Marshall, New York, NY


Section Delegate:
Richard Macias, Los Angeles, CA


Three-year Council Positions:
Benjamin Wilson, Washington, DC (Minority-at-large)

Gerald Gardner, West Hollywood, CA (Minority-at-large)

Richard Podell, Milwaukee, WI

Kay Hodge, Boston, MA

Patrick McGlone, Washington, DC

Lourdes Rivera, Los Angeles, CA


One-year Unexpired Terms:
Robert Weiner, Washington, DC


Under the Section’s bylaws, any Section member may nominate candidates other than those selected by the Nominating Committee by submitting a written statement of nomination, signed by one other member in addition to the member being nominated, to Section Chair Paul M. Igasaki or to Section Secretary Neal R. Sonnett at least six hours before the election. Nominations are not permitted from the floor at the time of the election.

The Section Council is scheduled to meet from 9:00 a.m. to 4:00 p.m. on Friday, Aug. 4, and from 9:00 a.m. to 11:30 a.m. on Saturday, Aug. 5, in Coral Ballroom I, Mid-Pacific Conference Center, of the Hilton Hawaiian Village. Council sessions are open to all members. Please contact the Section office at 202/662-1030 for further information.