October 23, 2012

IRR News Report

Summer 2005

Thurgood Marshall Award Dinner, CLE Programs Highlight Section Events at ABA Annual Meeting

The 14th Annual Thurgood Marshall Award Dinner and six CLE programs will be among the highlights of Section activity at this year’s ABA Annual Meeting, set for August 4-9, 2005, in Chicago, Ill.

On Saturday, Aug. 6, the Section will honor Judge Abner J. Mikva with the 2005 Thurgood Marshall Award, for his nearly half a century devotion to public service, during which he has demonstrated consistent leadership in protecting the rights of the disenfranchised and promoting respect for the Rule of Law. U.S. Supreme Court Justice John Paul Stevens, will deliver the keynote address for the event. (See related story, pg. 1). The award dinner will be held at 8:00 p.m. in the Regency Ballroom A/B, Gold Level, West Tower, of the Hyatt Regency Chicago, following a reception at 7:00 p.m.

On Saturday afternoon, the Section will present a CLE program entitled, “The 2004 Presidential Election: How Lawyers Made a Difference.” The program will address the voter protection effort and discuss possible solutions to address the various impediments to voting that potential and registered voters experienced before and during the general election. > On Sunday, Aug. 7, the Section will sponsor two programs, “The Global War on Terror: Conflict or Compatibility with the U.S. Bill of Rights and International Rule of Law?” and “Representing Transgendered Clients in Employment Discrimination Cases: Challenges to Preconceptions, Practice Tips, and Case Law Review.” On Monday, Aug. 8, the Section will sponsor three additional CLE programs: “Social Security Reform,” “Guest Workers, Permanent Residents or Mass Deportations: Whither Immigration Reform in the 109th Congress?,” and “Community & Conscience: Executing Juveniles and the Mentally Impaired.” All programs will be offered for CLE credit and will take place at the Hyatt Regency Chicago. Panelists include, Professor M. Cherif Bassiouni, Harold Hongju Koh, Professor Geoffrey Stone, Barry Sullivan, and others. The Section Council is scheduled to meet from 9:00 a.m. to 4:00 p.m. on Friday, Aug. 5, and from 9:00 a.m. to 11:30 a.m. on Saturday, Aug. 6. The Section’s Committee Excellence Award will be presented to the Health Rights and Bioethics Committee on Friday, Aug. 5, during the Section’s Leadership Award Luncheon at noon. The Section Annual Meeting and Election, to be held on Friday, Aug. 5 at 1:00 p.m., will be open to all members in good standing. Members also are encouraged to attend meetings of Section committees in which they are interested on Saturday morning, Aug. 6, beginning at 7:30 a.m. For a complete schedule of Section events and Thurgood Marshall Award Dinner ticket order information, see the Annual Meeting insert in this newsletter.