October 23, 2012

IRR News Report

Summer 2004

Section to Elect 2004-05 Leaders at ABA Annual Meeting

The Section will hold its 2004 Annual Meeting on Friday, Aug. 6, during the ABA's Annual Meeting in Atlanta, Ga. The agenda includes the election of 2004-05 Section officers and Council members.

The meeting will begin at 1:00 p.m. in the Zena Room, Mezzanine Level, of the Wyndham Atlanta Hotel.

This year's Chair-elect, Stephen F. Hanlon of Washington, D.C., automatically succeeds to the position of Section Chair for 2004-05. Members attending the Section Annual Meeting will elect individuals to serve as Chair-elect, Vice Chair, and Secretary (all one-year terms) and five others to fill Section Council seats (four for three-year terms; one to complete an unexpired term).

The 2004 Section Nominating Committee (Bill Robinson, Chair; James E. Coleman, Jr., C. Elisia Frazier, Georgina C. Verdugo, and Rebecca Westerfield) has proposed the following slate of candidates for 2004-05:

John D. Podesta
Washington, D.C.

Vice Chair:
Paul M. Igasaki
Alexandria, Va.

Georgina C. Verdugo
Los Angeles, Calif.

Three-year Council Positions:
Marcia D. Greenberger
Washington, D.C.

Drucilla S. Ramey
New York, N.Y.

Robert E. Stein
Washington, D.C.

Richard M. Macias
Los Angeles, Calif.

One-year Unexpired Term:
Sarah Weddington
Austin, Tex.

Under the Section's bylaws, any Section member may make additional nominations for these positions by submitting a written statement of nomination signed by at least one other member in addition to the member being nominated. Nominations must be received by Section Chair Joan F. Kessler or Section Secretary Paul M. Igasaki at least six hours before the election. Nominations will not be accepted from the floor at the time of the election.

The Section Council is scheduled to meet from 9:00 a.m. to 4:00 p.m. on Friday, Aug. 6, and from 9:00 a.m. to 11:30 a.m. on Saturday, Aug. 7, in the Athena Room, Mezzanine Level, of the Wyndham Atlanta Hotel. Council sessions are open to all members. Please contact the Section office (tel.: 202/662-1030) for further information.