October 23, 2012

IRR News Report

Summer 2003

Thurgood Marshall Award Dinner, Affirmative Action Program

Highlight Section Events at ABA Annual Meeting

The 12th Annual Thurgood Marshall Award Dinner and CLE programs on cutting-edge issues are among the highlights of Section activity at this year's ABA Annual Meeting, set for August 7-12, 2003, in San Francisco, Calif.

On Saturday, Aug. 9, the Section will honor Dale Minami, a leader in the national civil rights community, with the 2003 Thurgood Marshall Award. California Supreme Court Associate Justice Joyce L. Kennard will be the keynote speaker. The award dinner is scheduled for 8:00 p. m. in the Grand Ballroom of the Westin St. Francis Hotel, preceded by a reception at 7:00 p. m.

On Saturday afternoon, the Section and The Federalist Society will sponsor jointly their third debate on a contemporary issue.

Section programs will include "Affirmative Action in Law School Admissions: What Directions After Grutter v. Bollinger?," to be held on Saturday afternoon, Aug. 9, at the Pan Pacific Hotel. Panelists will examine the U. S. Supreme Court's recent affirmative action decisions and explore ways law schools may consider framing their admissions policies in light of the decisions.

Programs on Sunday, Aug. 10, include "Second-Parent Adoption: A Pathway to Family Equality" at the Westin St. Francis and "The New Uniform Parentage Act: Analysis and Perspectives on the Act for the New American Family," in the ABA's CLE Center in Moscone Center South.

Section programs on Monday, Aug. 11, include "Patients Rights: Refusal Clauses and Their Impact on Healthcare Access and Rights"; "Technologies for Privacy and the Role of Law"; "Excluding Contraceptives from Health Insurance: A 21st Century Gender Gap or Sound Business Practice?"; "Faith-Based Initiatives: An Unholy Alliance or a Match Made in Heaven?"; and "The Right to Counsel: Forty Years after Gideon v. Wainwright."

The Section Council is scheduled to meet from 9:00 a. m. to 5:00 p. m. on Friday, Aug. 8 and from 9:00 a. m. to 11:30 a. m. on Saturday, Aug. 9. The Committee Excellence Award will be presented to the Sexual Orientation and Gender Identity Committee during the Section's Leadership Award Luncheon on Friday, Aug. 8. The Section also will honor Morrison & Foerster LLP for its years of pro bono contributions to the Section's work.

The Section Annual Meeting and Election, at 1:00 p. m. on Friday, Aug. 8, is open to all members in good standing. Members also are encouraged to attend meetings of Section committees in which they are interested on Sunday morning, Aug. 10.