October 23, 2012

IRR News Report

Spring 2006

Julius L. Chambers to Receive Thurgood Marshall Award

Julius L. Chambers of Charlotte, N.C. will receive the Section’s 2006 Thurgood Marshall Award in recognition of his outstanding commitment to the preservation and expansion of civil rights for all Americans. The award will be presented at the Section’s Annual Thurgood Marshall Award Dinner on Saturday, Aug. 5, during the 2006 ABA Annual Meeting in Honolulu, Hawaii.

Mr. Chambers graduated first in his class from the University of North Carolina School of Law in 1962. He is a member of the highest honorary societies at the University of North Carolina, and was the first African-American Editor-in-Chief of the Law Review. After teaching at Columbia University School of Law while earning his LLM in 1964, Mr. Chambers opened his law practice in Charlotte, N.C. The practice soon grew from a solo firm into the first integrated law firm in North Carolina history. Working with the NAACP Legal Defense and Education Fund (LDF), the firm successfully litigated civil rights cases, including Swann v. Charlotte-Mecklenburg Board of Education, Griggs v. Duke Power Co., and Albermarle Paper Co. v. Moody.

Over the years, Mr. Chambers has served as an adjunct professor at the University of Virginia Law School, the University of Pennsylvania, Columbia University Law School, and the University of Michigan Law School. In 1984, he became the Director-Counsel of the NAACP LDF in New York, leading the nationwide effort to improve education, voting rights, employment, housing, and prisons. After nearly 10 years with LDF, he returned to North Carolina Central University to serve as Chancellor, where his leadership helped create a $50 million capital fundraising campaign and established its first ten endowed chairs. While Chancellor, Mr. Chambers continued to work on landmark cases, and was one of three lawyers to argue Shaw v. Hunt, the legislative redistricting case, before the Supreme Court.

Mr. Chambers retired from his position as Chancellor in June of 2001 and reentered private practice with Ferguson Stein Chambers Gresham & Sumter. His current work includes business matters, employment discrimination, education, and civil rights.

For more information on the 2006 Thurgood Marshall Award Dinner, call the Section office at 202-662-1030 or visit our website at www.abanet.org/irr.