October 23, 2012

IRR News Report

Spring 2005

2005 Section Nominating Committee to Submit Slate of Candidates for Council Positions

The 2005 Nominating Committee is set to recommend candidates for open Section officer and Council positions in the 2005-06 ABA year. Council member Virginia E. Sloan, President of The Constitution Project, chairs the committee; other members include former Section Chair Zona F. Hostetler, Section Council Member Drucilla S. Ramey, Section committee leaders Manuel San Juan and Glenn Stover, and Section Chair-elect Paul M. Igasaki ( ex officio).

In fall 2004, the Section held a special election to make interim appointments to fill the Section officer and Council positions vacated by Section leaders who were unable to complete their terms. As a result, interim Section officers are not eligible for automatic succession and this year’s Committee will submit a slate of candidates for all officer positions, including Finance Officer (three-year term), and Delegate (three-year term), and available Section Council seats.

Section members will vote on the Committee’s slate at a luncheon to be held at noon on Friday, Aug. 5, 2005, at the Hyatt Regency Hotel during the 2005 ABA Annual Meeting in Chicago, Ill. Under the Section’s bylaws, any Section member may nominate candidates other than those selected by the Nominating Committee by submitting a written statement of nomination, signed by one other member in addition to the member being nominated, to Section Chair Stephen F. Hanlon or to Section Secretary Robyn S. Shapiro at least six hours before the election. Nominations are not permitted from the floor at the time of election.

Any Section member interested in nomination for the position of Section Secretary or a Council position may contact any Nominating Committee member or Section Director Tanya Terrell-Collier.

Virginia E. Sloan (Chair) – 202/721-5624; sloan@constitutionproject.org
Zona F. Hostetler – 202/775-1550; zonaIRR@aol.com
Drucilla S. Ramey – 212/769-9301; dstender77@aol.com
Manuel San Juan – 787/723-6669; sanjuanm@microjuris.com
Glenn Stover – 415/495-7000; glenn@stoverlaw.net
Paul M. Igasaki ( ex officio) – 703/751-5642 ; igasaki@aol.com
Tanya Terrell-Collier – 202/662-1030; Tanya.TerrellCollier@americanbar.org