October 23, 2012

IRR News Report

Fall 2006

Section Calls for Thurgood Marshall Award Nominations

The Section is accepting nominations for the 2007 Thurgood Marshall Award. Established by the Section in 1992, the Award honors U.S. Supreme Court Justice Thurgood Marshall, who epitomized individual commitment, in word and action, to the cause of civil rights in this country. The award recognizes similar long-term contributions by other members of the legal profession to the advancement of civil rights, civil liberties, and human rights in the United States.

Nominees for the award must have made substantial and long-term contributions to the furtherance of civil rights, civil liberties, or human rights in this country. A “substantial” contribution shall be considered to be one envincing a level of dedication or achievement beyond that required or expected in the normal course of an individual’s work. “Long-term” generally shall be considered to be at least 10 years. Nominees should be judges or duly licensed members of the bar in good standing. However, a non-lawyer who otherwise qualifies for the award may be considered for the award in exceptional circumstances. (Nominations of individuals posthumously cannot be considered.)

Submissions must be postmarked by Dec. 15, 2006. Nomination forms and more information can be obtained from the Section office (202/662-1030) or downloaded from the Section’s website at www.abanet.org/irr/marshall-award.html