October 23, 2012

IRR News Report

Fall 2004

2005 Thurgood Marshall Award Nominations

The Section soon will begin accepting nominations for the 2005 Thurgood Marshall Award, established in 1992 to recognize substantial and long-term contributions by members of the legal profession to the advancement of civil rights, civil liberties, and human rights in the United States.

Past recipients of the award include Justice Marshall (1992), the Hon. Frank M. Johnson, Jr. (1993), Oliver W. Hill (1994), Ralph S. Abascal (1995), Jack Greenberg (1996), the Hon. Damon J. Keith (1997), Stephen B. Bright (1998), Justice Ruth Bader Ginsburg (1999), the Hon. Revius O. Ortique, Jr., (2000), the Hon. William Wayne Justice (2001), Rep. Don Edwards (2002), Dale Minami (2003), and Fred D. Gray (2004).

Nominees should be judges or licensed members of the bar in good standing. In exceptional circumstances, someone who is not a lawyer may be considered. The nomination submission deadline is Friday, Jan. 7, 2005.

To request a nomination package, contact the Section office at 202/662-1030. Nomination forms also may be downloaded from the Section website at www.abanet.org/irr.