March 04, 2011

IRR News Report

Fall 2003

Joan F. Kessler Becomes Section Chair

Joan F. Kessler, a litigation partner with Foley & Lardner in Milwaukee, Wisc., and Section Chair-elect in 2002-03, has succeeded Mark D. Agrast as Section Chair.

"I am honored to serve with such an extraordinarily talented and dedicated Council and officers," Joan said upon taking office at the close of the ABA Annual Meeting in August. "We have tremendous opportunities this year for exciting initiatives."

She noted that with the 40th anniversary of the passage of the 1964 Civil Rights Act coming in 2004, "the Section is sponsoring an initiative to commemorate that landmark change in our legal landscape. At the 2004 ABA Annual Meeting in Atlanta, Georgia, in August, we expect to present a panoply of CLE programs focusing on all aspects of the 1964 Civil Rights Act, with analysis of the promises of the Act, the accomplishments in each area under the Act, and a forward look at what promises remain unfulfilled."

Joan, who specializes in family law, has served on the American College of Family Trial Lawyers, a select group of 100 matrimonial trial lawyers nationwide, since 1998. A graduate of the University of Kansas and Marquette University Law School, Joan is a former Assistant U. S. Attorney for the Eastern District of Wisconsin and currently is running for a seat on the Milwaukee County District 1 Court of Appeals.

Other 2003-04 officers elected at the Section Annual Meeting at which Joan became Chair include Stephen F. Hanlon, Washington, D. C. (Chair-elect); John D. Podesta, Washington, D. C. (Vice Chair); and Paul M. Igasaki, Alexandria, Va. (Secretary). Gloria J. Browne-Marshall, New York, N.Y.; Harlan A. Loeb, Chicago, Ill.; and Neal R. Sonnett, Miami, Fla., were re-elected to three-year terms on the Council. Richard J. Podell of Milwaukee, Wisc., and Richard M. Macias of Los Angeles, Calif., are newly elected members of the Council. Carlton D. Stansbury of Milwaukee, Wisc., has been appointed as the Publications Officer, Virginia E. Sloan of Washington, D. C., is a Special Counsel for 2003-04, Eric W. Iskra of Charleston, W. V., joins the Council as the Young Lawyers Division Liaison, and Megan Downing of the University of Denver College of Law is the 2003-04 Law Student Division Liaison.