October 23, 2012

The IRR News Report

Fall 2002

Mark D. Agrast Becomes Section Chair

Mark D. Agrast of Washington, D. C., succeeded Zona F. Hostetler as Section Chair at the 2002 ABA Annual Meeting.

"It is an honor to follow in the footsteps of the distinguished leaders of our profession who have chaired the Section of Individual Rights and Responsibilities.  And it is a privilege to serve with the extraordinary men and women who make up the current leadership and staff of the Section.  The coming year will bring many challenges for civil liberties in this country and abroad, and I know we will rise to the occasion as we always have."

As Counsel and Legislative Director to Congressman Bill Delahunt (D-Mass., 10th Dist.), Mark is responsible for the development, supervision, and implementation of Rep. Delahunt’s legislative agenda, which includes such varied issue areas as civil and constitutional rights, criminal justice, civil justice reform, rights of lesbians and gay men, and public health and HIV/AIDS policy. A graduate of Case Western Reserve University and Yale Law School and a former Rhodes Scholar, Mark is a co-founder of the National Lesbian and Gay Law Association and represented it for several years in the ABA House of Delegates. He also has served on the National Capital ACLU Board of Directors.

Other 2002-03 officers elected at the meeting include Joan F. Kessler, Milwaukee, Wisc. (Chair-elect); Stephen F. Hanlon, Washington, D. C. (Vice Chair); John D. Podesta, Washington, D. C. (Secretary); and Roy A. Hammer, Boston, Mass. (Finance Officer). C. Elisia Frazier of Fort Wayne, Ind., was elected as Section Delegate. Georgina C. Verdugo of San Diego, Calif., and Robyn S. Shapiro of Milwaukee, Wis., were re-elected to three-year terms on the Council and Harlan A. Loeb of Chicago, Ill., Neal R. Sonnett of Miami, Fla., Steven T. Walther of Reno, Nev., and John D. Payton of Washington, D. C., are newly elected members of the Council. John K. Uilkema of San Francisco, Calif., has been appointed as the Section’s Board of Governors liaison; Bruce Hopson of St. Louis, Mo., as the Young Lawyers Division liaison; and Brett J. Barratt of East Lansing, Mich., as the Law Student Division liaison.