Criminal Justice Section  


Criminal Justice Magazine
Fall 2001
Volume 16, Issue 3

Timeline for Military Justice Developments

May 5, 1950: Congress passes Uniform Code of Military Justice (UCMJ)

May 31, 1951: UCMJ takes effect

1956: Toth v. Quardes holds ex-service members not subject to court-martial

1957: Reid v. Covert rules civilian dependents not subject to court-martial for murdering spouse

1960: Supreme Court extends Reid v. Covert to all civilian dependents and employees

1962: Senator Sam Ervin’s subcommittee begins congressional study of military justice

1968: Congress passes Military Justice Act of 1968

1969: O’Callahan v. Parker limits court-martial jurisdiction to "service-connected" conduct

1974: Parker v. Levy recognizes uniqueness of military society interpreting constitutional rights of service members

1976: Middendorf v. Henry holds that Constitution does not require defense counsel in summary court-martial even though confinement is imposed

1983: Congress authorizes Supreme Court review of Court of Military Appeals decision

1987: Solorio v. U.S.; Supreme Court overrules O’Callahan

1990: Court of Military Appeals increased from three judges to five judges

1994: Court of Military Appeals renamed Court of Appeals for the Armed Forces

1998: U.S. v. Scheffer; Supreme Court upholds president’s prohibition against admission of polygraph evidence in courts-martial

1999: Clinton v. Goldsmith; Supreme Court restricts authority of Court of Appeals for the Armed Forces

2000: New statute makes ex-service members and civilian dependents and employee subject to trial in federal district court for violations of UCMJ

Return to Table of Contents - Fall 2001

Return to Criminal Justice magazine home page