chevron-down Created with Sketch Beta.
August 01, 2022

Law partner Myra C. Selby to receive 2022 ABA Margaret Brent Award

CHICAGO, August 1, 2022 — Myra C. Selby, a partner at Ice Miller in Indianapolis, Indiana, is a recipient of the American Bar Association’s 2022 Margaret Brent Women Lawyers of Achievement Award.

Selby will receive the award, given annually by the ABA Commission on Women in the Profession, at a ceremony and reception at 3-5:30 p.m. CDT on Sunday, August 7, at the Swissotel Chicago during the 2022 ABA Annual Meeting.

In addition to Selby, the 2022 award recipients include Michele Goodwin, Christina L. Martini, Laura J. Schumacher and Wendy Shiba.

“We are honored to recognize this spectacular group of women who have been trailblazers throughout their careers,” said Maureen Mulligan, chair of the ABA Commission on Women in the Profession. “They are role models for all women in the legal profession.”

Selby has a broad-based practice at Ice Miller with a focus in the areas of corporate internal investigations, appellate practice, compliance counseling, complex litigation and risk management.

While serving as an associate justice on the Indiana Supreme Court from January 1995-99, Selby participated in several landmark decisions involving state property taxes, insurance and tort law reform. In 1999, the Indiana Supreme Court appointed Selby to chair its Commission on Race and Gender Fairness, where she remains a member.

Prior to her appointment to the court, Selby was director of health care policy for the state of Indiana, where she was responsible for policy development and the execution of state health care programs, including Medicaid managed care. Selby received the 2018 Heritage Keeper Award from the Indiana State Museum and was named in Best Lawyers in America© (2009-21), Indiana Super Lawyer (2006-21), among other notable accolades.

Selby earned a bachelor’s degree from Kalamazoo College and a law degree from the University of Michigan School of Law.

For a photo of Myra C. Selby, click here.

The ABA Margaret Brent Women Lawyers of Achievement Award, established in 1991, honors outstanding women lawyers who have achieved professional excellence in their area of specialty and have actively paved the way to success for other women in the profession. The award is named for Margaret Brent, the first woman lawyer in America. Brent arrived in the colonies in 1638 and was involved in 124 court cases in more than eight years, winning every case.

The ABA is the largest voluntary association of lawyers in the world. As the national voice of the legal profession, the ABA works to improve the administration of justice, promotes programs that assist lawyers and judges in their work, accredits law schools, provides continuing legal education, and works to build public understanding around the world of the importance of the rule of law.