chevron-down Created with Sketch Beta.

Making a Difference awardees honored in virtual GPSolo event

Four lawyers with careers in private practice, academia and public service received 2021 GPSolo Making a Difference Awards. The awards recognize extraordinary individuals who “make a difference” by breaking down barriers through community service, pro bono work or service to the profession. The award ceremony was held in virtual format on Oct. 21, during the division’s fall meeting. Click here to watch a video of the awards ceremony.

GPSolo Making a Difference Awards are presented by the ABA Solo, Small Firm and General Practice Division.

GPSolo Making a Difference Awards are presented by the ABA Solo, Small Firm and General Practice Division.

“The Solo, Small Firm and General Practice Division salutes our Difference Maker Award winners. Whether giving back to our communities, elevating our profession or blazing new paths for future attorneys, these four unique individuals showcase the very best of Main Street lawyering,” GPSolo Chair Stephen J. Curley said.

Here are the 2021 GPSolo Difference Maker Awards and their recipients:

Difference Maker Award: Aurora Abella-Austriaco is a partner at Valentine Austriaco & Bueschel P.C., an all women-owned law firm in Chicago. She serves on the Illinois Court Commission and is immediate past president of the National Conference of Bar Presidents. Click here for a photo of Aurora Abella-Austriaco.

Making a Difference by Breaking Barriers Award: Haley Moss is an attorney with autism who lives in Coral Gables, Florida. She is a neurodiversity expert, keynote speaker, educator, consultant, author of four books and a sought-after commentator on disability rights issues. Click here for a photo of Haley Moss.

Making a Difference through Community Service Award: Alan O. Olson of Olson Law Office, P.C., in Des Moines, Iowa, practices personal injury/wrongful death, civil rights and commercial law. He has served on numerous ABA committees and currently serves on the board of directors of the Iowa Legal Aid Foundation. He previously served as president of both the Drake University Law School board of counselors and the Iowa Legal Aid board of directors. Click here for a photo of Alan O. Olson.

Making a Difference through Service to the Profession Award: Bob Carlson is a former ABA president and a shareholder of the Butte, Montana, law firm of Corette Black, Carlson and Mickelson, P.C. He currently serves as chair of the ABA House of Delegates’ working group on policy and operations. Before entering private practice in 1981, Carlson was staff attorney for the Montana Department of Business Regulation and a law clerk for the Montana Supreme Court. Click here for a photo of Bob Carlson.

Related links