chevron-down Created with Sketch Beta.
August 20, 2020

Miami-Dade Clerk of Courts Ruvin wins ABA award

CHICAGO, Aug. 20, 2020 – Harvey Ruvin, the longtime clerk of courts for Miami-Dade County, Fla., will be honored by the American Bar Association for his efforts to improve the courts’ services to citizens.

Ruvin was named the 2020 winner of the Robert B. Yegge Award for Outstanding Contribution in the Field of Judicial Administration by the Lawyers Conference of the ABA’s Judicial Division. The award honors Robert B. Yegge, former dean emeritus of the University of Denver Sturm College of Law and former chair of the Lawyers Conference. 

Ruvin was chosen for his efforts to modernize the Miami-Dade courts, improve the technology of judicial administration and improve services to the county’s citizens.

Ruvin has been the Miami-Dade clerk of courts for the past 28 years. He was first elected to public office in 1968 at the age of 30, serving as mayor of the City of North Bay Village, Fla. In 1972, he was elected to the Metro Dade County Commission, where he served for 20 years and became president of the National Association of Counties. Ruvin was elected Miami-Dade County clerk of courts in 1992 and has been re-elected five times since.

The award will be presented virtually at a date to be determined.


The ABA is largest voluntary association of lawyers in the world. As the national voice of the legal profession, the ABA works to improve the administration of justice, promotes programs that assist lawyers and judges in their work, accredits law schools, provides continuing legal education, and works to build public understanding around the world of the importance of the rule of law. View our privacy statement online. Follow the latest ABA news at and on Twitter @ABANews.