April 01, 2016

Justice Ginsburg honored with 2016 American Bar Association Rule of Law Award

The American Bar Association Rule of Law Initiative honored U.S. Supreme Court Justice Ruth Bader Ginsburg with its 2016 ABA Rule of Law Award for her commitment to the global advancement of the rule of law.

U.S. Supreme Court Justice Ruth Bader Ginsburg

The award recognizes Ginsburg for her exemplary leadership during her international travels and in hosting international delegations and guided discussions on the institutional workings of the U.S. Supreme Court. The award was presented to Ginsburg by Margaret McKeown, ROLI board chair, at a March 31 reception in her honor at the U.S. Supreme Court.

Ginsburg thanked the ABA Rule of Law Initiative for the award, and acknowledged its difficult work around the world. “May all present here thrive and continue in today’s difficulties of trial of men, and installing and maintaining the rule of law and respect for human beings in our world,” she said.

Ginsburg also praised ROLI for its work with the CEDAW Assessment Tool, developed in 2002, as a mechanism for assessing countries’ de jure and de facto compliance with the UN Convention on the Elimination of All Forms of Discrimination against Women, by uncovering the legal obstacles that prevent the achievement of greater gender equality.

The Rule of Law Award (formerly referred to as the CEELI Award) was established in 1994 to honor leaders who have taken significant steps toward implementing democratic and legal reforms in a country or region, or internationally.  The honoree can be a person, a group of people or an organization selected by the ABA Rule of Law Initiative board in recognition of their role in international-based legal reform; their dedication to the protection of human rights in a country; and international prominence in the profession.

Past ABA Rule of Law Award recipients can be found online.