YLD Child Advocacy Award

About the Award

Each year in conjunction with the Center on Children and the Law, the ABA Young Lawyers Division honors one young lawyer and one non-young lawyer for dedicated service on behalf of children. Award recipients are recognized at the Young Lawyers Division Assembly during the ABA Annual Meeting.

The 2019 nomination process will open on February 1, 2019.

Nomination Deadline

April 29, 2019

Award Categories

  • Young Lawyer (on September 1 the individual must be less than 36 years of age or admitted to practice in his/her first bar within the past five years)
  • Non-Young Lawyer (on September 1 the individual must be 36 or more years of age or admitted to practice in his/her first bar more than five years ago)


Any lawyer or judge involved in child advocacy is eligible. The award is given based on an individual's personal achievement and commitment. It is not given to groups of people, organizations, or posthumously. Previous nominees not selected may be re-nominated.

Nomination Process

  1. A nomination packet must be submitted by April 29, 2018. The packet includes:
  2. A completed online nomination form (Preview nomination form questions)
  3. Supporting documentation which needs to emailed to Renee Lugo (renee.lugo@americanbar.org) as one single document in either a PDF or Microsoft Word format. The submission must be 10 pages or less. Faxes will not be accepted. Supporting documentation should include:
  • A nomination letter from nominator explaining the qualifications of the nominee and setting forth the reasons why the nominee should be awarded the Child Advocacy Award.
  • The nominee’s biographical resume, including an explanation of the nominee’s legal service on the behalf of children, employment and professional history.
  • Up to three letters of recommendation. Examples include letters from the nominee’s clients, individuals familiar with the nominee’s service on behalf of children, the nominee’s current or former employers, fellow practitioners, or any other individual who can explain why the nominee should be receive the Child Advocacy Award.