Margaret Brent Women Lawyers of Achievement Award

The Margaret Brent Women Lawyers of Achievement Award, established by the ABA Commission on Women in the Profession in 1991, recognizes and celebrates the accomplishments of women lawyers who have excelled in their field and have paved the way to success for other women lawyers.

2017 Luncheon

Sunday, August 13th - Noon - 2:00 p.m.

New York Hilton Midtown in New York, New York
(ABA Annual Meeting)


  • Nancy Duff Campbell; Co-President; National Women’s Law Center; Washington, DC
  • Honorable Bernice Bouie Donald; Circuit Judge; U.S. Court of Appeals for the Sixth Circuit; Memphis, TN
  • Honorable Lynn Nakamoto; Justice; Oregon Supreme Court; Salem, OR
  • Lauren Stiller Rikleen; President; Rikleen Institute for Strategic Leadership; Wayland, MA
  • Nadine Strossen; John Marshall Harlan II Professor of Law; New York Law School; New York, NY


How to Support the Margaret Brent Awards Luncheon


Invitation / One-Page Summary of Support Opportunities

Register for the ABA Annual Meeting

Thank You to Our Generous 2017 Supporters

Media Announcement

Nomination Criteria and Application Requirements

2016 Commemorative Program and Tribute Book



Previous Award Recipients

Honorees receiving the Margaret Brent Award have achieved professional excellence in their field and

  • influenced other woman to pursue legal careers,
  • opened doors for women lawyers in a variety of job settings that historically were closed to them, and/or
  • advanced opportunities for women within a practice area or segment of the profession.

 View the list of distinguished award recipients