chevron-down Created with Sketch Beta.
December 11, 2018 What's New at TIPS

Meeting Round-Up: ABA Annual Meeting in Chicago, Illinois

Briana M. Montminy

TIPS members and guests convened for the ABA Annual Meeting in Chicago on August 2–5, where the Section was headquartered at the Swissôtel, overlooking the Chicago River on Upper Wacker Drive. Once again, TIPS provided CLE at no charge to all its members, offering a total of 12 free credit hours of CLE—a tremendous member benefit! CLE programs provided information on such topics as turning the tables on difficult witnesses and counsel at deposition, protecting your client’s sensitive information in court filings from cyberattacks, the future of arbitration, protecting intellectual property in the legal cannabis industry, and defending negligent security claims.

Outgoing TIPS Chair Holly Polglase and former TIPS Chair Peter Neeson (2006–2007) congratulate former TIPS Chair John Tarpley (2009–2010), recipient of the 2018 TIPS James K. Carroll Leadership Award, at the Section’s Leadership Awards Dinner on October 13 at the Ritz-Carlton in Amelia Island, Florida.

Photo by John Pavlou.

When not in business meetings or attending the free CLE, TIPS members participated in a public service project cosponsored by the TIPS Law in Public Service Committee and Animal Law Committee in conjunction with Safe Humane Chicago; enjoyed shopping on Michigan Avenue; cruised along the river on one of Chicago’s architectural boat tours; watched the Cubs play at Wrigley Field; spent an evening at the theatre to see the hit hip-hop musical “Hamilton”; walked, biked, or jogged the Lake Michigan shoreline; and ate at one of Chicago’s famous steakhouses or pizza places.

Hall McKinley III received the Andrew C. Hecker Memorial Award, which recognizes a member of TIPS who consistently demonstrates the qualities of leadership, outreach, enthusiasm, professionalism, and pride in the Section. Yolanda Eisenstein, recipient of the Excellence in the Advancement of Animal Law award, was recognized for her work as member of TIPS’s Animal Law Committee. Additionally, Northwestern Law School Professor Kathleen Dillon Narko received the Liberty Achievement Award for her leadership in promoting diversity in the legal profession.

On Saturday evening, Section members and guests gathered at the TIPS Leadership Dinner where Holly Polglase ended her year as the chair of the Section, handing the gavel to Roy Cohen, the new TIPS chair. Michael D. Green, a professor at Wake Forest University School of Law, received the Robert B. McKay Law Professor Award, which honors law professors who have shown commitment to the advancement of justice, scholarship, and the legal profession through their contributions to the fields of tort, trial practice, or insurance law. Lastly, John Tarpley, received the James K. Carroll Leadership Award for his outstanding leadership, dedicated service, and endless support to TIPS, the ABA, the Tennessee Bar Association, and other bar organizations. John is one of the founding members of the TIPS Leadership Academy, which has succeeded in bringing many younger members and new leaders to the Section.

On behalf of TortSource, we offer our congratulations to all the award recipients and thank them for their contributions to TIPS and the legal community.

The material in all ABA publications is copyrighted and may be reprinted by permission only. Request reprint permission here.

Briana M. Montminy

Briana M. Montminy is a partner with Burr & Forman LLP in the firm’s Nashville, Tennessee, office and is the immediate past retiring chair and a current member of the TortSource editorial board. She may be reached at [email protected].