March 10, 2020

Tort Trial & Insurance Practice Law Journal | Winter 2020 - Vol. 55 Issue 1

The Insurance Policy as Economic Tool: Moral Hazard and Adverse Selection as a Means of Commercial Liability Insurance Interpretation - Brian Margolies

Prior Insurance and Non-Cumulation of Liability Conditions Don’t Wipe Away Billions in Product Liability Coverage - Gerald P. Konkel, David S. Cox & Christopher Popecki

Holding the Runner on the Bag: Limiting the Scope of the "Sports or Athletics Participants" Exclusion in Liability Insurance Coverage - David C. Kane

DOWNLOAD FULL ISSUE

Editorial Board

Editor-in-Chief
Christine S. Davis
Bradley Arant Boult Cummings LLP
Washington, D.C.
cdavis@bradley.com

Co-Executive Editor
Charles A. Yuen
Scarinci Hollenbeck, LLC
Lyndhurst, New Jersey
cyuen@scarincihollenbeck.com

Co-Executive Editor
Kara D. Ford
Eversheds Sutherland (US) LLP
New York City
karaford@eversheds-sutherland.com

Managing Editor
Julie Roberts Furgerson
American Bar Association
Washington, D.C.
julie.furgerson@americanbar.org

 

Associate Editors

Zascha Blanco Abbott
Liebler, Gonzalez & Portuondo
Miami, FL
zba@lpglaw.com

Adam J. Budesheim
McCarter & English, LLP
Newark, New Jersey
abudesheim@mccarter.com

Brian L. Bank
Rivkin Radler LLP
Uniondale, New York
brian.bank@rivkin.com

Ryan Buschell
Covington & Burling LLP
San Francisco, California
rbuschell@cov.gov

Andrew Bourne
Hoguet Newman Regal & Kenney, LLP
New York, New York
abourne@hnrklaw.com

Andy Cao
McGlinchey Stafford PLLC
Houston, Texas
karaford@eversheds-sutherland.com

Lara Degenhart Cassidy
Perkins Coie LLP
Washington, D.C.
lcassidy@perkinscoie.com

Pamela A. Palmer
Clark Hill PLC
Los Angeles, California
ppalmer@clarkhill.com

R. Aaron Chastain
Bradley Arant Boult Cummings LLP
Birmingham, Alabama
achastain@babc.com

Stephen Parsley
Bradley Arant Boult Cummings LLP
Birmingham, Alabama
sparsley@bradley.com



 

Associate Editors 

Peter Kochenburger
University of Connecticut School of Law
Hartford, Connecticut
peter.kochenburger@uconn.edu

Mario S. Russo
McCarter & English, LLP
Newark, New Jersey
marusso@mccarter.com

Matthew R. Kohnke
Property & Liability Resource Bureau
Downers Grove, Illinois
mkohnke@plrb.org

David Brooks Torrey
Workers Compensation Office of Adjudication
Birmingham, Alabama
trichie@babc.com

Michael A. Kotula
Rivkin Radler LLP
Uniondale, New York
michael.kotula@rivkin.com

S. Kyle Weaver
Carr Allison
Tallahassee, Florida
kweaver@carrallison.com

Jeremy A. Lawrence
Munger Tolles & Olson LLP
San Francisco, California
jeremy.lawrence@mto.com

J. Thomas Richie
Bradley Arant Boult Cummings LLP
Birmingham, Alabama
trichie@babc.com

Jeremy M. King
Olshan Frome Wolosky LLP
New York, New York
jking@olshanlaw.com

 

Editorial Policies

The Tort Trial & Insurance Practice Law Journal, the quarterly scholarly publication of the ABA Tort Trial & Insurance Practice Section, is committed to the publication of articles that present analysis and insight into issues affecting the broad scope of tort and insurance law and practice. The Journal welcomes original articles dealing with current and emerging issues of national scope from members of the bar.

Feature articles traditionally are between 10,000 and 15,000 words, or 50 to 60 double-spaced pages in length. Depending on the topic and depth of focus, the Journal also accepts some shorter articles. The writing should be appropriate for a law review article. All references must be completely and accurately cited using the citation style of The Bluebook: A Uniform System of Citation, 20th Edition. Other important requirements: (1) include a brief description of your current professional affiliation, (2) use consecutively numbered footnotes rather than embedded citations, (3) number pages, (4) italicize rather than underline, (5) use Word, and (6) submit the manuscripts as e-mail attachments. Simultaneous submission of manuscripts to other publications is discouraged and must be brought to the attention of the editor-in-chief of the Journal. Unless otherwise clearly noted, all manuscripts are expected to be original. All articles accepted for publication will be checked carefully for unauthorized use of copyrighted material.

Authors are asked to sign a copyright agreement that grants to the ABA the exclusive right of first publication, the nonexclusive right to reprint, and the right to use the work in other ABA media—including electronic and print.

Manuscripts should be sent as e-mail attachments to Julie Furgerson, Managing Editor, julie.furgerson@americanbar.org.

No compensation is paid for published articles.

Requests to reprint or republish material from the Journal should be sent to copyright@americanbar.org.

Opinions and viewpoints expressed in the contents of the Journal are solely those of the authors and should not be attributed to the Journal’s editorial board, the Tort Trial & Insurance Practice Section, or the American Bar Association.