chevron-down Created with Sketch Beta.
June 11, 2024 TIPS Notes

Winter 2024 Update on the Latest Programs and Events in Your Tort Trial and Insurance Practice Section

ABA Midyear Meeting Recap

TIPS Council, standing committees, task forces, and Leadership Academy met for very productive meetings at the ABA Midyear Meeting in Louisville, Kentucky. We were delighted to present Professor Penny White with the prestigious Robert B. McKay Law Professor Award at the Saturday networking reception. The award recognizes law professors who show a commitment to advancing justice, scholarship, and the legal profession by contributing to the fields of tort, trial practice, or insurance law. In her remarks to the Leadership Academy earlier and in accepting the McKay Award, Professor White captivated the audience with her enthusiasm both for teaching the next generation of great lawyers and for the critical importance of judicial independence.

Until her retirement in 2022, White was the Elvin E. Overton Distinguished Professor of Law and served as the director of the Center for Advocacy and Dispute Resolution at the University of Tennessee College of Law. She taught courses in evidence, trial practice, pretrial litigation, and negotiation and assisted with the law school’s various clinical and externship programs.

Before beginning her teaching career, White practiced law in a small firm and was a solo practitioner focusing on criminal defense, civil rights, and family law. As a solo practitioner, she successfully argued in the U.S. Supreme Court. After leaving private practice, she served as a judge at every level of the court system in Tennessee, serving as the first female circuit judge in the First Judicial District and the second woman to serve on the Tennessee Court of Criminal Appeals and the Tennessee Supreme Court.

Section Leadership Nominated for FY 2024–2025

The following slate of officers for fiscal year 2024–2025 was nominated by the TIPS Council during the 2024 ABA Midyear Meeting:

  • Chair-Elect (one-year term, then will automatically become Section Chair for 2025–2026): Marcy Greer, Alexander Dubose & Jefferson LLP, Austin, TX
  • Vice-Chair (one-year term): Meade Mitchell, Butler Snow LLP, Ridgeland, MS
  • Secretary (one-year term): Lisa Dickinson, Dickinson Law Firm, PLLC, Spokane, WA
  • Diversity Officer (two-year term): Akira Heshiki, Standard Insurance Company, Portland, OR
  • Finance Officer-Elect: David Becker, Dickinson Wright PLLC, Chicago, IL
  • Revenue Officer-Elect: Leland Kellner, Lavin, Cedrone, Graver, Boyd & DiSipio, Philadelphia, PA
  • HOD Representative: Floyd Holloway, State Farm Insurance Company, Philadelphia, PA (term expiresin 2027)
  • Council Members, Class of 2027 (five elected, each to serve a three-year term): Peter Biging, Goldberg Segalla LLP, New York, NY; Christine Forsythe, The Forsythe Law Firm LLC, Atlanta, GA; Aaron Greenbaum, Pusateri, Johnston, Guillot & Greenbaum, LLC, New Orleans, LA; Roscoe Mutz, Farhang & Medcoff, Tucson, AZ; Rick Vanderslice, Richard L. Vanderslice PC, Philadelphia, PA

Nominees will be officially elected by TIPS members at the Section business meeting to be held at the 2024 ABA Annual Meeting in Chicago, Illinois. Terms of each office will begin immediately, which for the Section will effectively begin at the close of the ABA Annual Meeting.

Procedures for additional nominations. According to Section bylaws, at any time prior to July 1, additional nominations may be submitted for one or more of the elected offices to be filled at the Annual Meeting. Not fewer than 50 Section members in good standing, of whom not more than 24 are residents of any one state, may file a nominating petition (which may be in multiple parts), signed, with names and addresses. All such petitions must be accompanied by the written consent of persons so nominated. Petitions may be sent by regular mail to the Section Chair at: Loren D. Podwill, Chair, c/o Theresa Livingston, Section Director, Tort Trial & Insurance Practice Section, American Bar Association, 321 N. Clark Street, Chicago, IL 60654-4746.

The material in all ABA publications is copyrighted and may be reprinted by permission only. Request reprint permission here.