chevron-down Created with Sketch Beta.
June 14, 2023 TIPS Notes

Winter 2023 Update on the Latest Programs and Events in Your Tort Trial and Insurance Practice Section

ABA Midyear Meeting Recap

The TIPS Meeting at the ABA Midyear Meeting in New Orleans was a success, with our officers, Council, and all standing committees and task forces meeting, engaging in planning, and advancing the interests of the Section. We were delighted to present the prestigious Robert B. McKay Law Professor Award to Professor Catherine Sharkey, the Segal Family Professor of Regulatory Law and Policy at New York University School of Law, at the Saturday networking reception. The award recognizes law professors who show a commitment to advancing justice, scholarship, and the legal profession by contributing to the fields of tort, trial practice, or insurance law.

Sharkey is a leading authority in the fields of torts, products liability, and administrative law, with a special focus on public nuisance, the economic loss rule, punitive damages, the regulation of pharmaceuticals and medical devices, and federal preemption of state tort law. She is a coauthor (with Richard Epstein) of Cases and Materials on Torts (12th ed. 2020). Sharkey has published more than 50 law review articles, essays, reviews, and book chapters in the fields of torts, products liability, administrative law, remedies, and class actions and was one of the 10 most-cited law faculty writing on torts and/or insurance law in the U.S. from 2016–2020. She also has been widely cited by state and federal courts. Sharkey was awarded a Guggenheim Fellowship in 2011.

Section Leadership Nominated for FY 2023–2024

The following slate of officers for fiscal year 2023–2024 was nominated by the TIPS Council during the 2023 ABA Midyear Meeting:

  • Chair-Elect (one-year term, then will automatically become Section Chair for 2024–2025): Christopher Nolan, New York, NY
  • Vice-Chair (one-year term): Marcy Greer, Austin, TX
  • Secretary (one-year term): Meade Mitchell, Ridgeland, MS
  • Diversity Officer (two-year term): Akira Heshiki, Portland, OR
  • Finance Officer: Deborah Smith, San Francisco, CA
  • Revenue Officer: Amir Nassihi, San Francisco, CA
  • HOD Representative: John C. McMeekin II, Philadelphia, PA (term expiring in 2026)
  • Council Members, Class of 2026 (five elected, each to serve a three-year term): Jason Hirshon, Slinde Nelson LLC, Portland, OR; Jordan Howlette, JD Howlette Law, Washington, DC; Troy Larkin, U.S. Citizenship and Immigration Services, Office of Chief Counsel, Newark, NJ; Anna Romanskaya, Stark & D’Ambrosio LLP, San Diego, CA; Ramona See, ADR Services Inc., Palos Verdes Peninsula, CA

Nominees will be officially elected by TIPS members at the Section business meeting to be held at the 2023 ABA Annual Meeting in Denver, Colorado. Terms of each office will begin immediately, which for the Section will effectively begin at the close of the ABA Annual Meeting.

Procedures for additional nominations. According to Section bylaws, at any time prior to July 1, additional nominations may be submitted for one or more of the elected offices to be filled at the Annual Meeting. Not fewer than 50 Section members in good standing, of whom not more than 24 are residents of any one state, may file a nominating petition (which may be in multiple parts), signed, with names and addresses. All such petitions must be accompanied by the written consent of persons so nominated. Petitions may be sent by regular mail to the Section Chair at: Gary L. Gassman, Chair, c/o Theresa Livingston, Section Director, Tort Trial & Insurance Practice Section, American Bar Association, 321 N. Clark Street, Chicago, IL 60654-4746.

Recent Live CLE

The Fidelity and Surety Law Fall Conference was held November 9–11, 2022, at the Ritz-Carlton Hotel in Philadelphia, Pennsylvania. The Fidelity and Surety Law Midwinter Conference was held January 18–20, 2023, at the JW Marriott in Washington, D.C.

The Business Litigation Conference, Current Events in Business Litigation—What You Need to Know!, was held on February 1, 2023, at the U.S. Court of Appeals for the Fifth Circuit in New Orleans, Louisiana.

The 31st Annual Insurance Coverage Litigation Committee Midyear Conference was held February 23–25, 2023, at the Arizona Biltmore in Phoenix, Arizona.

The Transportation Megaconference XVI: Trucking and Motor Carrier Litigation was held March 1–3, 2023, at the Sheraton New Orleans in Louisiana.

The Admiralty and Maritime Law Conference, Admiralty Disruption, was held March 3–4, 2023, at the Sheraton New Orleans in Louisiana.

CLE Webinars

“The Impact of Artificial Intelligence on Attorney-Client Relationships” was held on December 12, 2022. This webinar examined the importance of understanding how artificial intelligence (AI) can assist attorneys with their ethical duty of competence to better provide justice while recognizing the limitations of AI, particularly on issues of fairness.

“Insurance Regulation 101: The Basics of the U.S. System” was held on March 14, 2023. This webinar covered the basics of insurance regulation at the state and federal levels, including industry terminology, the different types of insurance coverage available, and how insurance industry activities are regulated by state regulators.

The material in all ABA publications is copyrighted and may be reprinted by permission only. Request reprint permission here.