chevron-down Created with Sketch Beta.
March 09, 2022 TIPS NOTES

Winter 2022 Update on the Latest Programs and Events in Your Tort Trial and Insurance Practice Section

ABA Midyear Meeting Recap

TIPS participated in the ABA Virtual Midyear Meeting, February 9–11, with over 30 business meetings, including Council, and a virtual awards presentation, where the prestigious Robert B. McKay Law Professor Award was presented to Professor David Owen. The Robert B. McKay Law Professor Award recognizes law professors who have shown commitment to the advancement of justice, scholarship, and the legal profession, demonstrated by outstanding contributions to the fields of tort, trial practice, or insurance law.

David Owen is the Carolina Distinguished Professor of Law Emeritus at the University of South Carolina (USC), where he was the director of the Office of Tort Law Studies and taught courses and seminars on tort law, tort theory, and products liability law. Prior to teaching, Professor Owen received degrees in economics (Wharton) and law from the University of Pennsylvania, was law clerk to Chief Justice Kenison of New Hampshire, and practiced law in Denver at Holland & Hart. In addition to USC, Professor Owen has taught at the Universities of Alabama, Indiana, Michigan, Nebraska, and Texas; Oxford University, England; Santa Anna University, Pisa, Italy; and the University of Navarra, Pamplona, Spain.

Professor Owen has authored numerous journal articles and authored, coauthored, and edited various books, including a hornbook/treatise, Products Liability Law (West 4th ed. 2022); an abridged account in Products Liability in a Nutshell (West 9th ed. 2015); a casebook, Products Liability and Safety (Foundation Press 8th ed. 2020); a products liability treatise, Owen & Davis on Products Liability (4 volumes, Thomson Reuters 4th ed. 2014); a theoretical work, Philosophical Foundations of Tort Law (Oxford Univ. Press 1995); and Prosser & Keeton on Tort Law (West 1984).

He has advised Congress, state legislatures, the British and Scottish Law Commissions, and the European Union on various products liability and tort law matters. He was an adviser to the American Law Institute (ALI) for the Restatement (Third) of Torts and was the ALI’s editorial adviser for the Restatement of Products Liability.

Spirit of Excellence Award

We were delighted to witness TIPS’s very own Kay Hodge receive the celebrated Spirit of Excellence Award, at the Spirit of Excellence Award reception on Thursday, February 10. The Spirit of Excellence Award celebrates the efforts and accomplishments of lawyers who work to promote a more racially and ethnically diverse legal profession. Awards are presented to the lawyers who excel in their professional settings, who personify excellence on the national and international level, and who have demonstrated a commitment to racial and ethnic diversity in the legal profession.

Kay Hodge is a partner in the firm of Stoneman, Chandler & Miller LLP, where she represents public and private sector management in labor, employment, and employee relations matters, including defending employers in employment-related litigation and advising employers on methods and procedures to avoid litigation. Kay is a member of TIPS Council and has served in many leadership roles over the years.

Section Leadership Nominated for FY 2022–2023

The following slate of officers for fiscal year 2022–2023 was nominated by the TIPS Council during the 2022 ABA Virtual Midyear Meeting:

  • Chair-Elect (one-year term; then will automatically become Section Chair for 2023–2024): Loren Podwill, Portland, OR
  • Vice-Chair (one-year term): Christopher Nolan, New York, NY
  • Secretary (one-year term): Marcy Greer, Austin, TX
  • Diversity Officer (two-year term): Akira Heshiki, Portland, OR
  • Finance Officer-Elect: Deborah Smith, San Francisco, CA
  • Revenue Officer-Elect: Amir Nassihi, San Francisco, CA
  • HOD Representative: Daina Bray, Nashville, TN, and New York, NY (term expiring in 2025)
  • Council Members, Class of 2025 (five elected, each to serve a three-year term): Megan Coluccio, Leland Kellner, Joshua Lee, Pamela Palmer, Jeffrey Price

Nominees will be officially elected by TIPS members at the Section business meeting to be held at the 2022 ABA Annual Meeting in Chicago, Illinois. Terms of each office will begin immediately, which for the Section will effectively begin at the close of the ABA Annual Meeting.

Procedures for additional nominations. According to Section bylaws, at any time prior to July 1, additional nominations may be submitted for one or more of the elected offices to be filled at the Annual Meeting. Not fewer than 50 Section members in good standing, of whom not more than 24 are residents of any one state, may file a nominating petition (which may be in multiple parts), signed, with names and addresses. All such petitions must be accompanied by the written consent of persons so nominated. Petitions may be sent by regular mail to the Section Chair at: John C. McMeekin II, Chair, c/o Theresa Livingston, Section Director, Tort Trial & Insurance Practice Section, American Bar Association, 321 N. Clark Street, Chicago, IL 60654-4746.

The material in all ABA publications is copyrighted and may be reprinted by permission only. Request reprint permission here.