December 01, 2015

Edmund S. Muskie Award Nomination Information

TIPS Edmund S. Muskie Award Online Nomination Information

The award recognizes TIPS members who have the attributes embodied by Senator Muskie: his dedication to justice for all citizens, his public service, and his role as a lawyer and distinguished leader of TIPS. In addition to individuals, formal or informal groups, such as corporate legal departments or persons working cooperatively on a pro bono project, may be nominated, so long as a significant number of members of the group belong to TIPS. (Only TIPS Officers, Immediate Past Section Chair and immediate past and present Public Service Committee members are ineligible.)

Please attach a resume for the person or group you are nominating and also write a brief narrative describing how the individual or group has provided outstanding pro bono service as defined in Rule 6.1(a) of the ABA Model Rules of Professional Conduct (see below), which places particular emphasis on service to low income people. You may also attach supporting materials which might include additional references, letters of support and documentation such as news articles.

The award will be presented at the 2020 TIPS Section Conference in Nashville, TN.

Please take the time to make a nomination. This is an excellent opportunity to recognize the good works of many TIPS members.

The Deadline date for Muskie nominations will be January 10, 2020

Click here to nominate an individual for the Muskie Award!

Law In Public Service Committee Homepage

Should you have questions about the application please call Norma Campos at 312.988.5574

Past Edmund S. Muskie Pro Bono Service Awards Recipients

2016 - W. Scott Welch III

2015 - Joshua D. Lee

2014 - Erin K. Higgins

2013 - Janis C. Puracal

2012 - Peter Antonucci

2010 - Patricia L. McKinnon

2009 - Linda Klein

2008 - Victor Garo

2007 - David Siegal

2006 - Larry P. Schiffer

2005 - A Bruce Jones

2004 - David Deehl

2003 - John P. Buckley

2002 - Robert Edward Hirshon

2001 - Linda E. Rosenzweig

2000 - Steven C. Choquette

1999 - No award given

1998 - Brittan L. Buchanan

1997 - Lisa L. Smith and Alan M. Wishnoff


Past Honor Roll Awardees

2014 – Lyndon Bittle, Joshua D. Lee

2013 – No Award Given

2011 – Jim J.S. Holmes, Peter A. Antonucci, Harmony I. Loube, Susan Holden, Steven G. Hall

2010 – No Award Given

2009 – Jerrilyn T. Malan, George T. Lewsis2008 - Peter Neeson, Michelle Rozovics, Joseph Siprut


A lawyer should aspire to render at least (50) hours of pro bono publico legal services per year. In fulfilling this responsibility, the lawyer should:

Provide a substantial majority of the (50) hours of legal services without fee or expectation of fee to:

  • persons of limited means, or
  • charitable, religious, civic, community, governmental and educational organizations in matters which are designed primarily to address