Liberty Achievement Award

The Liberty Achievement Award, sponsored by Thomson Reuters, was established to recognize attorneys and judges who take leadership roles in promoting diversity in the profession of law. Attorneys or judges who have demonstrated, by choices made in their careers and work done in private and/or public sector positions, that they have actively promoted diversity. This would include their own career, leadership positions or work done to advance diverse attorneys in the profession. Other considerations include significant substantive legal work in areas of diversity as well as community service and/or pro bono work in diversity.

Nomination Form

2022 Lifetime Liberty Achievement Award Recipient

Award recipient, Hon. Pamila J. Brown and TIPS Chair, John McMeekin

Award recipient, Hon. Pamila J. Brown and TIPS Chair, John McMeekin

Hon. Pamila J. Brown served as an associate judge in Howard County, Maryland, from 2002-17. She was named administrative judge in 2017 and presides over civil, criminal, domestic and traffic cases as well as administrative matters. Prior to her appointment Brown served as principal counsel and Maryland assistant attorney general and as an assistant city solicitor in the Baltimore City Law Department.

She has been deeply involved in the community and is a past president of the Metropolitan Baltimore YWCA, and the first woman of color to serve as president of the Bar Association of Baltimore City and the Howard County Bar Associations. She is the recipient of the Torch Bearer Award from the National Coalition of 100 Black Women, and is a frequent lecturer on ethics, tort liability, litigation techniques and trial advocacy, gender equity, domestic violence, traffic matters, implicit bias and diversity and inclusion, civics education and professionalism.

Brown has served as an adjunct professor at the University of Baltimore Law School and on the faculty of the Maryland Judicial College and the National Judicial College. Long active in the ABA, she is a former chair of the Government and Public Sector Lawyers Division, a member of the Task Force on Human Trafficking and is currently on the Board of Governors. She has served on the board of the Maryland Bar Foundation and is former president of the Maryland State Bar Association.

The award, sponsored by Thomson Reuters, was presented to Brown at the Hyatt Regency Baltimore Inner Harbor in April 2022 during the TIPS Section Conference.

“Thomson Reuters is proud of its ongoing support of TIPS, and we are honored to present this year’s Liberty Achievement Award to Judge Brown,” said Thomas Kim, Thomson Reuters chief legal officer and company secretary. “Whether on the bench, as a lawyer, as a law school or judicial school faculty member and lecturer, or leading a legal organization, Judge Brown has dedicated her career to making an impact in the lives of citizens and legal professionals, and especially legal professionals of color. I can’t imagine a more fitting recipient to be honored for promoting diversity in the law.”


Previous Award Recipients:

2020 - Judge Bernice B. Donald

2019 - Hon. Lourdes Ventura

2018 - Kathleen Dillon Narko

2017 - Judge Lorna G. Schofield