chevron-down Created with Sketch Beta.
February 16, 2017 News & Announcements

2017-2018 John S. Nolan Fellowships

The Section is pleased to announce the recipients of the 2017 John S. Nolan Fellowships. Named for the late Jack Nolan, a dedicated and respected Tax Section member, Nolan Fellows are young tax lawyers who are actively involved in the Section and have demonstrated leadership qualities.

The six 2017 Nolan Fellows are:

Elizabeth K. Blickley, Washington, DC;

Matthew Cooper, Ernst & Young LLP, Washington, DC;

Nikki J. Hasselbarth, Venable LLP, Baltimore, MD;

Vanessa C. Lafleur, Louisiana Department of Revenue, Baton Rouge, LA;

Rafi W. Mottahedeh, Jenner & Block LLP, Chicago, IL;

Susanna W. Ratner, SeniorLAW Center, Philadelphia, PA.

“The Section is privileged to announce these young lawyers as our Nolan Fellows for 2017-2018,” said William Caudill, Chair of the Section of Taxation. “These Nolan Fellows are our young lawyers and those new to practice who have demonstrated exceptional ability and commitment to the Tax Section. We expect they will continue that commitment to the Tax Section for many years to come.”

Each one-year fellowship includes the waiver of meeting registration fees and assistance with travel to Section meetings.  For more information about the Nolan Fellows program, visit the Section website at