November 18, 2016 Announcements

Accepting Nominations for the 2017 Janet Spragens Pro Bono Award

The Pro Bono Award Committee is pleased to announce that it is currently accepting nominations for the 2017 Janet Spragens Pro Bono Award. The award will be announced on January 21 at the Plenary Luncheon at the 2017 Midyear Meeting in Orlando, FL.

Established in 2002 to recognize outstanding and sustained achievements in pro bono activities in tax law, the award was renamed in 2007 in honor of the late Janet Spragens. Janet received the award in 2006 in recognition of her dedication to the development of low income taxpayer clinics throughout the United States. The Section is proud to honor Janet by recognizing the outstanding pro bono contributions of our members through this award.

For more information about this award and prior award recipients, go to:

Please send nominations to Derek B. Wagner at The deadline to submit nominations is Friday, November 18, 2016. All nominations will be held in confidence by the committee.