August 16, 2019

Contact & About Us

Section Staff and Contact Information

General Contact

American Bar Association - Section of Taxation
1050 Connecticut Ave NW, Suite 400
Washington, DC 20036
Tel: (202) 662-8670 | Fax: (202) 662-8682
Email: tax@americanbar.org
ABA Customer Service Center: (800) 285-2221

John Thorner
Section Director

202-662-8677
John.Thorner@americanbar.org
Download V-Card

Meetings & Events

Haydee Moore
Director, Meetings
Hotel sourcing, budgets, contracts, overview of all meetings
202-662-8679
Haydee.Moore@americanbar.org
Download V-Card

Sarah Deschauer
Meetings Manager
Meeting planning, logistics, vendor sourcing, Section Meetings
202-662-8680
Sarah.Deschauer@americanbar.org
Download V-Card

Michelle Chuang
Senior Meeting Planner
Meeting logistics, conference billing, audio-visual logistics, standalone meetings
202-662-8636
Michelle.Chuang@americanbar.org
Download V-Card

Vacant
Meetings Registrar
Meeting registration
202-662-1574
taxmeeting@americanbar.org

Publications

Todd Reitzel
Director, Publishing
Oversees Section publishing including periodicals and books
202-662-8681
Todd.Reitzel@americanbar.org
Download V-Card

Gregory Peacock
Senior Publishing Specialist
Manages production and marketing of ABA Tax Times and other publications
202-662-8646
Gregory.Peacock@americanbar.org
Download V-Card

Kaitlin Utz
Publishing and Technology Specialist
Manages CLE materials and supports The Tax Lawyer, ABA Tax Times, and other publications
202-662-1983
Kaitlin.Utz@americanbar.org

Membership & Marketing

Arnyae Neal
Director, Membership & Marketing
Membership and marketing materials
202-662-8670
taxmem@americanbar.org

Jennifer Phillips
Sponsorship Specialist
Meeting exhibitors, sponsorships administration
202-662-1682
Jennifer.Phillips@americanbar.org
Download V-Card

Continuing Legal Education (CLE)

Chris Tank
Director, CLE
CLE meetings, conferences, and webinars
202-662-8678
Chris.Tank@americanbar.org
Download V-Card

Tim Brady
Senior Educational Program Specialist
Meeting program, spotlights, CLE and webinar administration
202-662-8672
Tim.Brady@americanbar.org
Download V-Card

Pro Bono, Government Relations, & Section Committees

Meg Newman
Chief Counsel
Section comments & policy positions, LITC and Pro Bono initiatives, Committee issues
202-662-8645
Megan.Newman@americanbar.org
Download V-Card

DeMarcus Freeman
Committee Liaison
Committee operations, Bluebook, awards and fellowships, government and member outreach
202-662-8644
DeMarcus.Freeman@americanbar.org

Operations

Ty Hansen
Associate Director
Finances, reimbursements, government speakers
202-662-8673
Ty.Hansen@americanbar.org
Download V-Card

Dan Swenson
Technology Manager
Website, Tax Connect, meeting app, mailing lists
202-662-1993
Daniel.Swenson@americanbar.org
Download V-Card

About the Section

Our Mission

The mission of the ABA Section of Taxation is to serve our members and the public by providing education about taxes and tax systems, and by providing leadership to support the development of an equitable, efficient and workable tax system.

Our Goals

  • To promote diversity and inclusion in the tax profession.
  • To serve as the national representative of the legal profession with regard to the tax system.
  • To improve public understanding of, confidence in, and respect for, the tax system.
  • To provide leadership in simplifying and improving the tax system.
  • To provide unbiased, thoughtful and timely input into the legislative and administrative process.
  • To promote and maintain an active, vigorous, growing and interested Section membership.
  • To provide programs and services of unique quality which promote professionalism, competence and ethical conduct.
  • To provide a national forum for communication among Section members and interchange with the public sector.

Our Current Officers & Council Members

View our current Officers & Council members here.
Last updated July 2019.