June 06, 2019

Nolan Fellowship

We are pleased to announce the recipients of the 2019-2020 John S. Nolan Fellows at the Section’s May Meeting in Washington, DC.

Nolan Fellows are young tax lawyers who are actively involved in the Section, and have demonstrated leadership qualities and a commitment to the Section’s mission.    

The six 2019-2020 Nolan Fellows are:

  • Arielle Borsos, Caplin & Drysdale, Washington, DC
  • Phillip Colasanto, Agostino & Associates, Hackensack, NJ
  • Sarah Haradon, Holland & Hart, Denver, CO
  • Travis Thompson, Sideman & Bancroft, San Francisco, CA
  • Shamik Trivedi, Grant Thornton, Washington, DC
  • Lany Villalobos, Dechert, Philadelphia, PA

"We are pleased to announce these young lawyers as our Nolan Fellows for 2019-2020," said Eric Solomon, Chair of the Section of Taxation. "Nolan Fellows are young practitioners who have demonstrated superior leadership potential. We hope they will remain active in the Tax Section for many years to come.

The one-year fellowship includes waiver of meeting registration fees and assistance with travel to Section meetings.  

Named for the late John S. Nolan, a dedicated and respected Tax Section member, the distinction is awarded to young lawyers who are actively involved in the Section and have shown leadership qualities. Each one-year fellowship includes waived Meeting registration fees and assistance with travel to some Section meetings.

To nominate an outstanding young lawyer as a Nolan Fellow, please complete our Nolan Fellows Award Nomination Form. Please note we have recently updated the Nolan Fellow criteria.

Nominations for 2020-2021  Nolan Fellows are due by March 1st, 2020.

Past Recipients



Giselle Alexander
Dickinson Wright, Phoenix, AZ
James Creech
Law Offices of James Creech, San Francisco, CA
Yongo Ding
Miller & Chevalier, Washinton, DC
Frank DiPietro
Indiana Legal Services, Bloomington, IN
Jeffrey Dirmann
Agostino & Associates, Hackensack, NJ
Anne Gordon
PWC, McLean, VA


Elizabeth K. Blickley
Washington, DC
Matthew Cooper
Ernst & Young LLP, Washington, DC
Nikki J. Hasselbarth
Venable LLP, Baltimore, MD
Vanessa C. LaFleur
Louisiana Department of Revenue, Baton Rouge, LA
Rafi W. Mottahedeh
Jenner & Block LLP, Chicago, IL
Susanna W. Ratner
SeniorLAW Center, Philadelphia, PA


Jeff Chadwick
Winstead, P.C., Woodlands, TX
Clay Collins
PwC, Washington, DC
Vincent Kan
IL Attorney General, Chicago, IL
Lee Meyercord
Thompson & Knight, Dallas, TX
Larry Sannicandro
Agostino & Associated, P.C., Hackensack, NJ
Anna Tavis
Brooklyn Legal Service, Brooklyn, NY


Jairo G. Cano
Agostino & Associates, Hackensack, NJ
Philip Hirschfeld
Ruchelman, New York, NY
Timothy J. Leska
Pepper Hamilton, Philadelphia, PA
Shawn McIntire
Donelson Barry, Broomfield, CO
Diane Mehany
Caplin & Drysdale, Washington, DC
Laura R. Westfall
King & Spalding, New York, NY


Sean M. Akins
Latham & Watkins, Washington, DC
Puneet Arora
Towers Watson, Arlington, VA
Janine Burman
KPMG, New York, NY
Guinevere Moore
Holland & Knight, Chicago, IL
Anne-Marie Diggle Rábago
Rábago Business & Tax Law, San Diego, CA
Michelle Feit Schwerin
Capes Sokol Goodman & Sarachan, St. Louis, MO


Christina Crockett
Hunton & Williams LLP, McLean, VA
Cynthia Kahl
Internal Revenue Service, San Francisco, CA
Sean J. Norton
Pinetree Legal Assistance, Portland, ME
Matthew R. Sontag
KPMG LLP, Washington, DC
Samuel P. Weiler
Ernst & Young LLP, Columbus, OH
Zhanna A. Ziering
Caplin & Drysdale Chartered, New York, NY


Erica L. Brady
The Ferraro Law Firm, Washington, D.C.
Matthew J. Eickman
Utz, Miller & Eickman LLC, Overland Park, KS
Jon Finkelstein
McDermott, Will & Emery, Washington, D.C.
Cathy Fung
Internal Revenue Service, Washington, D.C.
Ivan H. Golden
Schiff Hardin LLP, Chicago, IL
Rachel L. Partain
Caplin & Drysdale Chartered, New York, NY


Chad R. DeGroot
Bryan Cave LLP, St. Louis, MO
Stacey Delich-Gould
Cahill Gordon & Reindel LLP, New York, NY
Mellissa L. Galetto
Skadden, Arps, Slate, Meagher & Flom LLP, Washington, D.C.
Vanessa A. Scott
Southerland Asbill & Brennan LLP, Washington, D.C.
Lisa M. Stern
Proskauer Rose LLP, New York, NY
Mark E. Wilensky
Roberts & Holland LLP, New York, NY


Kelley Cooper-Miller
Reed Smith LLP, Washington, D.C.
Katherine David
Oppenheimer, Blend, Harrison & Tate, Inc., San Antonio, TX
Eric Green
Convicer & Percy LLP, Glastonbury, CT
Kevin Jacobs
Ropes & Gray LLP, Washington, D.C.
Summer LePree
Holland & Knight LLP, Miami
Carlene Miller
Snell & Wilmer LLP, Phoenix


Niles A. Elber
Caplin & Drysdale, Washington, D.C.
Michelle A. Garcia
Davis & Harman, Washington, D.C.
Todd D. Keator
Thompson & Knight, Dallas, TX
Alexey Manasuev
KPMG, Washington, D.C.
Anne M. Meyer
Snell & Wilmer, Phoenix
Kathryn Morrison Sneade
Miller & Chevalier, Washington, D.C.


Megan Brackney
Kostelanetz & Fink, New York, NY
William Hansen
McDermott Will & Emery, Washington, D.C.
Sarah Johnson
Venable LLP, Washington, D.C.
Robb Longman
Joseph, Greenwald & Laake, Greenbelt, MD
Colleen O'Connor
Ernst & Young, LLP, Washington, D.C.
Juan Vasquez, Jr.
Chamberlain, Hrdlicka, White, Williams & Martin, Houston, TX


Jennifer Alexander
Deloitte Tax LLP, Washington, D.C.
Adam Cohen
Sutherland Asbill & Brennan, LLP, Washington, D.C.
Christopher D'Amico
Dean, Mead, Egerton, Bloodworth, Capouano & Bozarth, P.A., Orlando, FL
Thomas Greenaway
Office of Chief Counsel, IRS, Boston, MA
Pete Lowy
Shell Oil, Houston, Tx
Brandee Tilman
Disney Corporation, Glendale, CA


Christopher Condeluci
Groom Law Group, Washington, D.C.
Jessica Hough
Skadden, Arps, Slate, Meagher & Flom, LLP, Washington, DC
Gregory Lynam
Baker & McKenzie LLP, San Diego, CA
Veronica Rouse
Internal Revenue Service, Washington, DC
Bahar Schippel
Snell & Wilmer LLP, Phoenix, AZ
David B. Strong
Holme Roberts & Owen, LLP Denver, CO


Arlene Suzanne Fitzpatrick
Ernst & Young LLP, Washington D.C .
Peter A. Furchi
Debevoise & Plimpton LLP, New York, NY
Gregory J. Gawlik
Thompson Hine LLP, Cleveland, OH
Brant Hellwig
University of South Carolina, Columbia, SC
Michael M. Lloyd
Miller & Chevalier Chartered, Washington, D.C.
Jeanne Newlon
Venable LLP, Washington, D.C.


Flora Town Hezel
Office of the Attorney General of Virginia, Richmond, VA
Mark C. Jones
Pillsbury Winthrop LLP, New York, NY
Joseph B Schimmel
Cohen Chase Hoffman & Schimmel, Miami, FL
Virginia Stevenson
Arlington, VA
Brian Trauman
Mayer, Brown, Rowe & Maw LLP, Washington, D.C.
Lisa Zarlenga
Steptoe & Johnson LLP, Washington, D.C.


Adam M. Cohen
Holland & Hart Denver, CO
Charlene Luke
The Florida State University College of Law, Tallahassee, FL
Allen D. Madison
Fenwick & West LLP, Mountain View, CA
Christopher S. McLoon
Verrill & Dana, LLP, Portland, ME
Bonnie O'Brien Cecil
Deloitte & Touche LLP, Washington, D.C.
Norma M. Sharara
Buchanan Ingersoll PC, Washington, D.C.


David A. Berek
Bradley T. Borden
Jennifer L. Franklin
Armando Gomez
Andrew C. Liazos
Caroline G. Root


Christine Agnew
William S. Dixon
Wayne A. Hamilton
Melinda Merk
Cary D. Pugh
David G. Shapiro


Donna Lady Alpi
Barry Kozak
Todd E. Molz
Shannon Nash
Jeffrey H. Paravano
Anita C. Soucy