Section of Taxation Awards, Fellowships & More

The Section of Taxation recognizes individuals with distinguished tax careers, rising young lawyers and those who have contributed significantly to serving low-income taxpayers. Image: Kelley Miller and Larry Sannicandro receiving the 2020 Pro Bono Award at the 2020 Midyear Tax Meeting in Boca Raton, Florida.

Janet Spragens Pro Bono Award

The ABA Section of Taxation Pro Bono Award was established in 2002 to recognize one or more individuals or law firms that have provided meritorious pro bono service in the representation to low-income taxpayers.

Learn more about the - Pro Bono Award

John S. Nolan Fellowship

Named for the late John S. Nolan, a dedicated and respected Tax Section member, the distinction is awarded to young lawyers who are actively involved in the Section and have shown leadership qualities.

Learn more about the - Nolan Fellowship

Christine A. Brunswick Public Service Fellowship

The Section's Public Service Fellowship program was developed to provide legal service assistance to low income taxpayers in underserved areas of the country, and to foster an interest in tax-related public service for those young tax lawyers who participate.

Learn more about the - PSF Program

Law Student Tax Challenge

The ABA Section of Taxation Law Student Tax Challenge was established in 2001 by the Young Lawyers Forum. It is an annual inter-law school transactional planning and client counseling competition designed to focus on the tax consequences of a complex business-planning problem.

Related Committee

Learn more about the - LSTC