November 27, 2019 Senior Lawyers Division Leadership

Call for Division Officers and Council Member Nominations

By Marvin S.C. Dang, Chair, SLD Nominating Committee

Nominating Committee

The Chair of the Senior Lawyers Division Albert C. Harvey has appointed the following to the Division’s Nominating Committee: Marvin S.C. Dang, as Chair, and Karen P. Campbell, William Mock, Orlando Lucero, and Michael J. Van Zandt, as Members.

Automatic Succession

Under the Division’s Bylaws, upon adjournment of the 2020 ABA Annual Meeting, Chair-Elect Michael J. Van Zandt automatically becomes Chair; Vice Chair Sheila Slocum Hollis automatically becomes Chair-Elect; and Albert C. Harvey, Chair during the 2019-20 bar year, automatically becomes Immediate Past Chair of the Division. 

Call for Nominations

The Nominating Committee will accept nominations for the following elected Division leadership positions for terms beginning with the adjournment of the ABA Annual Meeting in August 2020.


  • Vice Chair for a one-year term with automatic succession to Chair-Elect.
  • Division Delegates (2) for a three-year term.

     Council Members:

  • Council Members-at-Large (4) for a four-year term.
  • Honorary Council Members (2) for a two-year term (non-voting). 

Nomination Process

You can nominate yourself or you can nominate another person for one of the elected Division leadership positions.

If you are nominating another person, please confirm with that person that he or she will accept the nomination, and you must state this in your nomination.

Anyone currently holding an elected Division position can self-nominate or be nominated for another position even if the term for the current position expires after August 2020.

Nominations must only be submitted at

No other form of submissions of nominations will be accepted.

The deadline to submit nominations is Monday, January 13, 2020.

The Nominating Committee plans to meet during the ABA Midyear Meeting in Austin in February 2020 to consider nominations. The Committee will thereafter submit its report to the Division Chair.

Additional nominations may be made by petition pursuant to Section 6.2 of the Division’s Bylaws which requires receipt of those petitions by the Division no later than sixty (60) days prior to the opening of the Annual Meeting of the Association.

All elections shall be held at the business session of the Division during the 2020 ABA Annual Meeting in August in Chicago.