December 1, 2011

Share Your Knowledge as an Arbitrator in FDi Moot Competition

By Christopher Gibson

Below is a description of the 2010 Foreign Direct Investment International Moot Competition (FDI Moot), which was held at Pepperdine University in California. This competition draws teams from law schools all over the world, and Senior Lawyers Division members are invited to participate as “arbitrators.”

Last year I participated in three of the many dozens of arbitration “hearings” as a member of different arbitrator “panels”  in  the  qualifying  rounds.  In  so  doing, I had the opportunity to meet and interact with practicing lawyers from Mexico, France, Italy, Argentina, and Australia, among other countries, all of  whom  were co-arbitrators, and to meet very  accomplished law students from 6 of the 17 countries represented.

The 2011 competition will be held in London in early November. Chris Gibson, co-director of the competition, prepared this summary at my request to inform and attract members of our division who would like to be involved this year.

-Denis T. Rice, vice-chair, Senior Lawyers Division International Issues Committee

A total of 32 teams took part in the oral rounds of the 2010 FDI Moot Competition hosted by Pepperdine University School of Law in Malibu, California. Teams competed from Australia, Argentina, the Czech Republic, Ecuador, Georgia, Germany, India, Lithuania, the Netherlands, Poland, Russia, Serbia, South Korea, Spain, Ukraine, the United Kingdom, and the United States.

On Sunday, October 24, before a final tribunal comprising Albert Golbert, Eric Van Ginkel, and Professor Robert Lutz, Murdoch University of Australia prevailed over New York University (NYU) to win the 2010 Skadden, Arps, Slate, Meagher & Flom FDI Moot Competition prize. Heinrich Heine University of Düsseldorf took third place over the University of New Delhi. The semi-finals between these teams were very close matters, in one case resulting in a formal dissent from one of the arbitrators as to which team should advance. Other quarter-finalists were University of Belgrade, Suffolk University, the Russian Academy of Justice (RAJ), and University of Warsaw. 

The Thomas Waelde Advocacy Prize for Best Oralist went to Christine Van Geyn of NYU, who received a free registration to a course sponsored by the International Criminal Court. The RAJ won the Best Claimant Memorial while NYU won the Best Respondent Memorial, and both received book prizes sponsored by Oxford University Press. NYU was the Highest Ranked Team (combination of the four preliminary rounds and memorial scores). Detailed individual results and rankings are at www. Match results for the four preliminary rounds can be found at

The 2011 FDI Moot Competition will be held at King’s College London School of Law, November 4–6. We look forward to your participation as arbitrators for the competition. For more information on how you can participate, please visit

Christopher Gibson ( is professor, assistant dean, and international law con- centration co-director at Suffolk University Law School; vice chair, Academic Council, Institute of Transnational Arbitration; and co-director of the FDI Moot Competition.