Meet the RPPT Staff

Staff changes seem to be the rule rather than the exception lately within the Real Property, Probate & Trust Law Section. During the past year, the Section had five new employees join its ranks and watched a long-time director leave to accept a promotion within the ABA. Though sorry to see Susan Lynch go, the Section leadership is pleased to welcome Susan Schaus as the new RPPT Staff Director.

Susan Schaus has been with the ABA for nine years. Before coming to RPPT, she served as Meetings Manager for the Antitrust Law Section for several years. In that position, she directed and supervised the planning, organization and implementation of program and facilities arrangements. She received her B.S. degree in biology and communications from Illinois State University and an M.S. in neurobiology from the University of Chicago. She volunteers at the John G. Shedd Aquarium to keep involved in her biology interest.

As Staff Director, Susan will provide principal staff support and counsel to the Section leadership. With a staff of six, she will imple-ment the work of the Section's committees and handle budget planning, finances, publications, marketing and membership campaigns, meeting planning and CLE programming. Her new position with the RPTE Section entails quite a learning curve because all sections operate differently within the ABA. She is looking forward to working with everyone in the Section and welcomes comments and recommendations on Section activities.

Other employees hired in the past year include Assistant Staff Director Maria Tabor, Committee Manager Stacy Walter, Committee Assistant Maura McHugh and Marketing and Administrative Assistant Lucy Alvarez. CLE and Meetings Manager Michelle Turner and Meetings Coordinator LaPrica Mims are the RPPT "oldtimers," having been on the staff for several years. Brief descriptions of all staff responsibilities follow.

Maria Tabor works with the Membership Committee on the Section's membership and marketing ventures, as well as with the Real Property, Probate & Trust Law Journal, Probate & Property magazine and the Books and Media Committee. If a colleague is interested in joining the Section, contact Maria and she will forward a membership packet to that person. She is also the person to contact with ideas for publications the Section might produce. She serves as staff liaison for the Nominating Committee. For questions about meetings, Michelle Turner is the contact. Michelle plans all aspects of the Section's spring and fall meetings and works with the ABA Meetings and Travel Department on Annual Meeting arrangements. She works closely with the Chair of the Section to plan the business and social events at meeting locations. Michelle also works with the Continuing Legal Education Committee to coordinate the selection and presentation of CLE programs at meetings. Maura McHugh is the main contact for committee mailings and committee conference calls. She processes committee member appointments and sends appointment letters to members. She also coordinates and maintains the committee project files and can help locate information about projects from past years. Maura serves as the general information contact for the Section and assists Stacy Walter with administrative tasks. LaPrica Mims, formerly the Committee Assistant, now serves as Meetings Coordinator, assisting Michelle Turner in all aspects of meeting planning. LaPrica is the main contact for the New Estate Planners Program in June. She handles registration forms for the spring, annual and fall meetings and is the main contact for the Section's smaller meetings, including the midyear meeting, the publications meeting and any on-site committee meetings. Lucy Alvarez assists Susan Schaus with her administrative responsibilities and assists Maria Tabor in the membership, marketing and publications areas. Lucy is involved in tracking the Section's membership, coordinating CLE materials and completing many other administrative assignments.

Probate & Property Magazine is published six times annually and is included in section members' annual dues.