February 28, 2018

Fellowships & Awards

Fellowships & Awards

RPTE provides recognition and opportunities for involvement to exceptional individuals.

The RPTE Fellows Program encourages the active involvement and participation of young lawyers in Section activities. The goal of the program is to give young lawyers an opportunity to become involved in the substantive work of the RPTE Section, while developing into future leaders.

An RPTE Fellow:

  • Is assigned to work with a substantive Committee Chair, who serves as a mentor and helps expose the Fellow to all aspects of committee membership
  • Gets involved in a substantive project, which could include writing for a RPTE publication
  • Becomes a Section liaison to the ABA Young Lawyers Division or a local bar association
  • Becomes an active member of the Membership Committee
  • Attends important Section leadership meetings

The goal of the RPTE student writing contest is to encourage and reward law student writing on the subjects of real property or trust and estate law. It is designed to attract students to these law specialties, and to encourage scholarship and interest in these areas. Articles submitted for judging are encouraged to be of timely topics and have not been previously published. This contest is open to all J.D. and LL.M students currently attending an ABA-accredited law school.

The RPTE award recognizes outstanding achievement, scholarship, and volunteer leadership in the fields of real property and/or trust and estate law. It is given to attorneys, judges, academics, business leaders and others who have made significant contributions in:

  • Advancing and improving Real Property or Trust and Estate law,
  • The practice of Real Property or Trust and Estate law,
  • Education and legal scholarship in Real Property or Trust and Estate law, or
  • Increasing the public's awareness of and/or access to matters related to Real Property or Trust and Estate law.

2018-2020 Fellowships
Applications due June 8, 2018

2018 Law Student Writing Competition
Submissions due May 31, 2018


Congratulations to our current recipients!

Law Student Writing Competition
2017 First Prize – Harry Dao
2017 Second Prize – Caitlinn Raimo
2017 Third Prize – Shawn Walker

2017-2019 Class

Ryan Almy
Bryanna Frazier
Caryn Friedman
Jason Hirata
Travis Hughes
Danielle Kincaid
Jennifer Litwak
Kelly Perez
Abigail Rosen
Jordan Veurink

2016-2018 Class
Adam Ansari
Travis Beaton
Sarah Cline
Josh Crowfoot
James Dougherty
Alicia Graves
Philip Richard Hirschfeld
Aastha Madaan
Imran Naeemullah
Brandon Ross