April 04, 2019

Contact Us

The Center for Public Interest Law is not able to help people with specific legal problems or cases. 

If you seek assistance with a legal problem, please consider contacting your state or local bar association. Many state bar associations have directories that enable you to locate a lawyer. Click here to find your state. You can also visit findlegalhelp.org to find free legal help or hire a lawyer. The site provides tools to find legal aid, pro bono lawyers, free legal answers and other resources. If you are a veteran, a list of pro bono resources by state can be found here.

If you would like to file an ethics complaint, an agency in each state is responsible for investigating complaints about lawyers. Click here to find your state‚Äôs agency.  Note: Lawyer discipline agencies cannot help you recover fees you have paid the lawyer, or make the lawyer pay you for a loss you have suffered because the lawyer made mistakes in handling your case.  

American Bar Association
c/o Center for Public Interest Law
1050 Connecticut Avenue, NW, Suite 400
Washington, DC 20036

Center for Public Interest Law
 Amy Horton-Newell, Director
 Amy.HortonNewell@americanbar.org

Center for Children and the Law
Commission on Youth at Risk

 Prudence Beidler-Carr, Director
 Prudence.Beidlercarr@americanbar.org

Center for Pro Bono
Standing Committee on Pro Bono and Public Service

 Cheryl Zalenski, Director
 Cheryl.Zalenski@americanbar.org

Commission of Domestic and Sexual Violence
 Vivian Huego, Director
 Vivian.Huego@americanbar.org

Commission on Homelessness and Poverty
 Kelly Russo, Director
 Kelly.Russo@americanbar.org

Commission on Immigration
 Meridith Linsky, Director
 Meredith.Linsky@americanbar.org

Commission on Law and Aging
 Charlie Sabatino
 Charles.Sabatino@americanbar.org

Death Penalty Representation Project
 Emily Olson Gault, Director
 Emily.OlsonGault@americanbar.org

Standing Committee on Election Law
Standing Committee on Gun Violence

 Sharon Terrill, Staff Liaison
 Sharon.Terrill@americanbar.org

Standing Committee on the Law Library of Congress
 Anne P. Brown, Staff Liaison
 Anne.Brown@americanbar.org