March 19, 2019

Contact Us

Center for Public Interest Law
American Bar Association
1050 Connecticut Avenue, NW
Suite 400
Washington, DC 20036

The Center for Public Interest Law is not able to help people with specific legal problems or cases. 

If you seek assistance with a legal problem, please consider contacting your state or local bar association. Many state bar associations have directories that enable you to locate a lawyer. Click here to find your state. You can also visit findlegalhelp.org to find free legal help or hire a lawyer. The site provides tools to find legal aid, pro bono lawyers, free legal answers and other resources. If you are a veteran, a list of pro bono resources by state can be found here.

If you would like to file an ethics complaint, an agency in each state is responsible for investigating complaints about lawyers. Click here to find your state‚Äôs agency.  Note: Lawyer discipline agencies cannot help you recover fees you have paid the lawyer, or make the lawyer pay you for a loss you have suffered because the lawyer made mistakes in handling your case.  

Amy Horton-Newell, Director
 Center for Public Interest Law
 Amy.HortonNewell@americanbar.org

Prudence Beidler-Carr, Director
 Center on Children & the Law
 Commission on Youth at Risk
 Prudence.BeidlerCarr@americanbar.org

Vivian Huelgo, Director
 Commission on Sexual and Domestic Violence
 Vivian.Huelgo@americanbar.org

Kelly Russo, Director
 Commission on Homelessness & Poverty
 Kelly.Russo@americanbar.org

Meredith Linsky, Director
 Commission on Immigration
 Meredith.Linsky@americanbar.org

Charlie Sabatino, Director
 Commission on Law & Aging
 Charles.Sabatino@americanbar.org

Emily Olson-Gault, Director
 Death Penalty Representation Project
 Emily.OlsonGault@americanbar.org

Sharon Terrill, Staff Liaison
 Standing Committee on Election Law
 Standing Committee on Gun Violence
 Sharon.Terrill@americanbar.org

Anne P. Brown, Staff Liaison
 Standing Committee on the Law Library of Congress
 Anne.Brown@americanbar.org

Cheryl Zalenski, Director
 Standing Committee on Pro Bono & Public Service
 Cheryl.Zalenski@americanbar.org